The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Covid-19: 67 in ICU, 17 die as Kenya records 1,211 new cases

Health & Science
 Health CS Mutahi Kagwe [Kipsang Joseph, Standard]

Kenya has 67 Covid-19 patients in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) and has recorded 1,211 new positive cases in the past 24 hours raising the country's total caseload to 76,404.

In a statement to media houses by the Ministry of Health on Saturday, Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe (pictured) said the new cases are from 9,304 samples which push the country’s cumulative tests to 833,004.

In terms of gender, 722 are male and 489 are female. The youngest case is a one-month-old infant while the oldest is aged 95.

Of the new cases, 1,169 are Kenyans while 42 are foreigners.

On a positive note, 368 patients recovered, with 265 on the home-based care programme while 103 were discharged from various hospitals bringing the total number of recoveries to 51,352.

On a sad note, Kagwe said 17 patients have succumbed to the disease bringing Kenya’s fatalities to 1,366.

Out of the 67 patients in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU), 36 are on ventilatory support while 31 are on supplemental oxygen.

In the supplementary Oxygen, the country has 77 patients, 73 of whom are general wards while four are in the High Dependency Unit (HDU)

A total of 1,134 are admitted in various health facilities while 6,805 are in the Home-based Isolation and Care.


In the county distribution, Nairobi leads with 410 cases, Mombasa 102, Migori 93, Bungoma 79, Uasin Gishu 55, Kiambu 42, Nakuru 40, Kilifi 39, Nyeri 30, Kisumu 30, Busia 28, Laikipia 27, Turkana 26, Machakos 25, Meru 25, Kisii 24, Kajiado 21, Trans Nzoia 17, Kakamega 12, Nyamira 12, HomaBay 11, Siaya 9, Narok 8, Kitui 7, Embu 5, Nandi 4, Kwale 4, Murang’a 4, Kericho 4, Garisaa 4, Taita Taveta 3, Lamu 3, Elgeyo Marakwet 2, Isiolo 2, Tana River 2, Wajir 1 and Makueni 1.

In Nairobi, the 410 cases are from Kibra 66, Lang’ata 44, Dagoretti North 34, Embakasi West 30, Westlands 30, Starehe 29, Embakasi Central 24, Ruaraka 22, Kamukunji21, Dagoretti South 20, Makadara 19, Embakasi East, Embakasi North and Roysambu 15, Kasarani 10, Mathare 9 and Embakasi South 7.


Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week