The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Lucky few who landed nomination slots

 UDA Secretary General Veronica Maina was nominated to the Senate. [Kelly Ayodi, Standard]

ODM national chairman John Mbadi and former Murang'a Woman Rep Sabina Chege are among 12 nominated MPs gazetted by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

And former Uasin Gishu Senator Margaret Kamar, UDA Secretary General Veronica Maina, former Narok Woman Rep Soipan Tuya and ODM Elections Board Chairperson Catherine Mumma are among the 20 leaders nominated to the Senate.

The names of the 32 nominated leaders are contained in a gazette noticed published Wednesday by IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati.

One nominee to the National Assembly from Wiper party will however have to wait longer to take up office because of a pending court case.

“The Wiper Democratic Movement Party was not allocated its share of one Nominated MP slot due to an interim court order restraining the commission from allocating the seat,” said Chebukati in the gazette notice.

UDA has five nominated Members of the National Assembly; Bishop Jackson Kosgei, Teresia Mwangi, Abdisirat Khalif Ali, Dorothy Ikiara and Joseph Iraya.

ODM has former Suba South MP John Mbadi, former Nominated Nyamira MCA Irene Mayaka and Umulkher Harun Mohammed.

Former Murang'a Woman MP Sabina Chege is the sole nominated MP for Jubilee Party while Joseph Hamisi Denar got the ANC slot. Suleka Hulbale Harun got a slot for UDM.

UDA got the majority slots for nomination seats to the Senate. They are UDA Secretary General Veronica Maina, former Narok Woman Rep Soipan Tuya, former Bomet Woman Rep Joyce Korir, former Kajiado East MP Peris Tobiko, Governance Expert Gloria Orwoba, city politician Karen Nyamu, Miraj Abdullahi Abdirahman and Maureen Mutinda.

 Karen Nyamu, John Mbadi and Kerako Tobiko's names are contained in a gazette noticed published Wednesday by IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati. [File, Standard]

“I would like to thank my party leader for having nominated me. I had set my eyes on being a Cabinet Secretary if we won elections, this shows that my good work in the party has been appreciated,” said Mbadi.

Soipan was equally grateful for landing a seat in Parliament.

“I would like to say that it is a great honour for me to serve my UDA Party and Kenyans in the Senate given that this now my third term in Parliament. I promise to champion the rights especially of women from marginalized communities,” said Soipan.

ODM got five nomination slots to the Senate which include; ODM Election Board Chairperson Catherine Mumma, ODM Women League President Beth Syengo,Beatrice Oyomo, Hamida Kibwana and Betty Montet.

Former Uasin Gishu Senator Margaret Kamar is back to the Senate as a Jubilee Party Nominee, while former Lamu Woman Rep Shakila Abdalla is the Senate Nominee for Wiper Democratic Movement and Mariam Sheikh Omar is a nominee for UDM.

Hezina Lemaletian of the ODM Party and Raphael Mwinzagu of UDA Party have been nominated to the Senate to represent the Youth.

Crystal Asige (ODM) and George Mbugua (UDA) have been nominated to represent Persons with disabilities in the Senate.

Related Topics


Similar Articles


Recommended Articles