× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Four new IEBC Commissioners sworn in

By Betty Njeru | September 2nd 2021

New IEBC Commissioners-Francis Wanderi (second extreme left), Juliana Cherera, Chief Justice Martha Koome, Irene Cherop (third extreme right), Julius Obonyo and Chief Registrar Anne Amadi (far right). [IEBC]

Four new commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) have been sworn in.

Juliana Cherera, Francis Wanderi, Irene Cherop, and Justus Abonyo were sworn in on Thursday, September 2, at the Supreme Court grounds in Nairobi, in a ceremony conducted by Judiciary Chief Registrar Anne Amadi.

They took an oath before Chief Justice Martha Koome, after which they were received by IEBC Chair Wafula Chebukati.

They are expected to serve a six-year term.

Earlier, President Uhuru Kenyatta who nominated the four last month, approved their appointment on Thursday, following successful vetting.

The National Assembly Justice and Legal Affairs Committee (JLAC) had yesterday approved the names of all four nominees.

They will fill the vacant positions left after the resignation of Roselyn Akombe, Margaret Mwachanya, Paul Kurgat, and Connie Maina.

Their appointment now means that the electoral agency is fully constituted after three years of operating with just the chairman and two commissioners.

It also sets the pace for IEBC to fully prepare for the 2022 General Election, putting to rest the question of quorum.

Share this story
Kianjokoma murder cops finally charged after day of drama
Six police officers accused of killing two brothers in Kianjokoma village in Embu County were finally charged in a dramatic day in court.
Group E World Cup qualifiers: Misfiring Harambee Stars held by Uganda Cranes
Harambee Stars winless run against Uganda continued after being held to a 0-0 draw by the neighbours in Group E World Cup qualifiers match played at t