× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Selection panel to recruit IEBC team out today

By Josphat Thiong’o | April 21st 2021
President Uhuru Kenyatta during the commissioning of the Small Arms Factory at the National Security Industries at Ruiru, Kiambu County. [Courtesy]

President Uhuru Kenyatta is today expected to receive the list of nominees to the selection panel that will recruit four electoral agency commissioners.

The Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC), chaired by National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi, is expected to submit the names to the President for appointment.

The team will spearhead the recruitment of four commissioners to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

This is after Uhuru, on April 14, declared the positions vacant following the resignation of four IEBC commissioners after the disputed 2017 presidential elections.

The selection panel, as per the IEBC Act of 2020, shall consist of two men and two women nominated by the PSC, one person by Law Society of Kenya and two people by the Inter-Religious Council of Kenya.

Through a letter seen by The Standard, LSK president Nelson Havi nominated Kimuli Morris Mutua to sit in the panel.

Share this story
Jubilee starts process to end pact with UDA party
Decision to part ways now frees Jubilee to discipline members allied to Deputy President William Ruto who has shown an inclination towards UDA.
Opening Ceremony: Kenya takes her pride of place as 2020 Tokyo Paralympic Games begin
Team Kenya Paralympics strolled majestically into the Tokyo Olympic Stadium led by captain Rodgers Kiprop and Powerlifter Hellen Wawira for the Openin