The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Wainaina carries the day at Nakuru Golf Club

 Nakuru Golf Club Chairman Titus Lusaka (left) presents Peter Wainaina (center) with Chairman (Mandeep Sahota) (right) 2024 prize, May 25, 2024. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

Handicap 28 Peter Wainaina posted a total of 40 stableford points to beat over 130 golfers in the Chairman’s Prize tournament at Nakuru Golf Club on Saturday.

Wainaina scored 18 points in the first nine and 22 in the back nine to emerge the overall winner in a tournament that was hosted in honour of the outgoing chairman Mandeep Sahota.

Mandeep, who was showered with praise as one of the outstanding chairmen, handed over the top prize as he ushered in the in-coming chairman Titus Lusaka.

“Thanks goes to my teammates for stimulating me in the back nine as we played on after an average start in the first one. The course was good and that propelled me to emerge the winner,” Wainaina said.

 (L - R) Camco Equipment Kenya Limited - Director, Ken Liu, Camco Regional Manager Nakuru, Amos Wekesa, Chairman Prize Junior winner, Pari Maisuria and Camco Sales Manager, Stephen Marwa during the presentation gala at Nakuru Golf Club, May 25, 2025. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

Professional golfer Andrew Chelogoi of Eldoret was the pro-winner, pocketing Sh20,000.

Roy Bwoma, who scored 38 points, finished second to edge George Kimani by two points ahead Joram Njuguna, who posted 36 stableford points to finish as the third runner-up.

With a total of 36 stableford points, Michael Mululu won the men’s title, while in-form Beatrice Bisonga scooped the ladies title with the same points. Pari Maisuria and David Mathai scored a total of 35 and 29 stableford points to win the junior and senior titles respectively.

 Nakuru Chairman (Mandeep Sahota) 2024 overall prize winner Peter Wainaina putts on the par-four 11th hole, May 25, 2024. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

The nines went to Raphael Kimani (first) and Gabriel Gathura (second) on 19 and 20 points respectively, with John Kamais emerging as the gross winner on 27 points.

Mukami Wachira (35 points) was the guest winner with the best effort title taken home by Gerrard Chasimba.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week