The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

List of presidents attending Ruto's inauguration

 Tanzania President Samia Suluhu arrives at Kasarani stadium, Nairobi. [Samson Wire, Standard]

Various Heads of State and Government and several dignitaries have already arrived at the Kasarani Stadium in Nairobi ahead of President-elect William Ruto's inauguration.

The Standard has confirmed the arrival of Somalia's President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud, Tanzania's Samia Suluhu, Malawi's Lazarus Chakwera and Burundi's Evariste Ndayishimiye.

The heads of state were received by Foreign Affairs Cabinet Secretary Raychelle Omamo, Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja, and Kiharu MP Ndindi Nyoro on Tuesday, just outside the dais.

 Vehicle carrying Malawi's President Lazarus Chakwera arrives at Kasarani stadium, Nairobi. [Samson Wire, Standard]

Rwanda's Paul Kagame and his Eswatini counterpart Prime Minister Cleophas Dlamini are also in attendance, together with Guinea Bissau's Umaro Embalo, Seychelles' Wavel Ramkalawan and President of the Union of Comoros Azali Assoumani.

A delegation from Israel represented by Minister of Intelligence Elazar Stern is also in Nairobi.

Uganda President Yoweri Museveni earlier Tuesday said he had departed Kampala for Nairobi to attend Ruto's swearing-in ceremony.

"I have this morning departed for Nairobi, Kenya to witness the inauguration of William Ruto as the fifth President of the Republic of Kenya. We shall continue to foster our good relations with Kenya and the other EAC countries for the prosperity of our people," Museveni tweeted.

Kenya's neighbours including Uganda, Tanzania, Ethiopia, South Sudan, Rwanda, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Burundi, and others are all represented.

Other Heads of State at Kasarani are; Djibouti's Ismail Omar Guelleh, Congo's Felix Tshisikedi, Zimbabwe's Emmerson Mnangagwa, The Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (SADR) President Brahim Ghali, and South Sudan President Salva Kiir.

 Burundi President Evariste Ndayishimiye is received by Foreign Affairs CS Omamo at Kasarani stadium. [Samson Wire, Standard]

The African Union (AU) Commission Chair Faki Mahamat is also in attendance, Mozambique's Filipe Nyusi and Sierra Leone's Julius Maada Bio.

South Africa Deputy President David Mabuza is standing in for the country's Head of State.

Related Topics


Similar Articles


Recommended Articles