Sarah Pkyach crowned Miss Tourism Kenya 2018 - Evewoman

Readers Lounge

Sarah Pkyach crowned Miss Tourism Kenya 2018

Kenya Film Classification Board CEO Ezekiel Mutua(Left),Foreign Affairs Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS) Mr Ababu(2nd left) Miss Tourism Kenya 2018 Sarah Pkyach(Centre) Miss tourism 2017 Wendy Bella(2nd Right) & Devolution CS Eugene Wamalwa(Right) during Miss Tourism Kenya 2018 crowning

Sarah Pkyach is the new Miss Tourism Kenya. Sarah, who is also Miss Tourism West Pokot County, beat 40 other contestants to clinch the title in a colorful event at the Safari Park Hotel. Dignitaries, former beauty title holders, friends and family members of the contestants had gathered early to witness the coronation of one of the county beauty queens.

Devolution Cabinet Secretary Eugene Wamalwa was the chief guest. In his keynote speech, Mr Wamalwa commended the work done by the Miss Tourism fraternity.

“I am happy with Mrs Alice Kamunge and her team’s effort to make this event a total success over the years. My ministry will continue to support this noble cause,” he said. 

Various governors’ wives also attended the ceremony. They included Nairobi’s Primrose Mbuvi, who played host. At some point the first ladies took to the runway to showcase their modelling skills.

Sarah signed a contract worth Sh1.2 million and will represent the country in the Miss Tourism International 2018 finals in Kuala Lumpur in December. Joyce Nasambu Munyefu, the Miss Bungoma County, won the People’s Choice award. She garnered more than 45 per cent of the total votes cast.

Ababu Namwamba, the Chief Administrative Secretary in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, was present.

His wife Ann Paula Machio is the reigning Miss Busia County. Others present were Kenya Film and Classification Board Chair Ezekiel Mutua, Dennis Itumbi, the Secretary of Innovation, Digital and Diaspora Communication in the Office of the President, and Walter Mong’are. Besides the Miss Tourism title, the pageant awarded the winners from its six pillars, namely environment, hospitality, culture, investment, flora and fauna as well as peace and utility.

Here is the list of how the beauties faired:

Winner- Sarah Kiachi from West Pokot County

1st Runners up- Yvonne Wangechi from Laikipia County (Flora and Fauna)

2nd runners up - Mercy Mwiti from Nairobi County (Peace and unity)

Fourth - Linet Kamadi from Kakamega County (Investment Pillar)

Fifth - Moureen Wangari from Mombasa County (Environment Pillar)

Sixth - Shamsha Noor from Wajir County (Culture Pillar)

Seventh - Ivy Brenda Cherotich from Kericho County (Hospitality Pillar)

Eight- Joyce Nasambu Munyefu from Bungoma County (People's Choice Award)

The views and opinions expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of

Latest Stories

Subscribe to Eve Digital Newsletter

* indicates required

Popular Stories