The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Historic: Kenya’s first female governors

Achieving Woman
 From left, Charity Ngilu, Anne Waiguru and Joyce Laboso
It is history in the making for Kenya as we are set for our first female governors. Previously, all the 47 governors were male. The three strong women fought tooth and nail to secure the county’s top job. This is also good news for gender equality.

Kenya is set to have its first female county bosses. It indeed is a milestone for equality considering we had no female governor(s) in the last government.

 Charity Ngilu

Charity Ngilu of NARC beat Senator David Musila and incumbent Julius Malombe to secure the Kitui governor’s seat. Provisional results as of Thursday morning indicate that she scooped 162768 votes which translate to 47.41%.

 Anne Waiguru

In Kirinyanga County, Former Devolution Cabinet Secretary, Anne Mumbi Waiguru took an early lead against Martha Karua of NARC K and the incumbent John Ndathi. Provisional results indicate she scooped 159606 votes (54.09%)

 Joyce Laboso

Joyce Laboso of Jubilee Party ousted her biggest rival in the race NASA co-principal Isaac Rutto. Joyce is ahead with a whopping 175932 votes which is (67.2%).

Related Topics