× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Chief Justice Willy Mutunga appoints 12-member committee to facilitate alternative dispute resolution process

By Standard Digital Reporter | February 24th 2015

Chief Justice Willy Mutunga has appointed 12 members to the Mediation and Accreditation Committee to facilitate and strengthen the alternative dispute resolution process in the country.

The Committee, to be chaired by Justice Alnashir Visram, is responsible for determining the criteria for the certification of mediators, proposing rules for the certification of mediators, maintaining a register of qualified mediators, enforcing such code of ethics for mediators as may be prescribed and setting up appropriate training programmes for mediators.

The members are: Ms Wachia Kilei from the Office of the Attorney General, Mr John Morris Ohaga and Ms Getrude Matata from the Law Society of Kenya, Mrs Irene Wanyoike of the Chartered lnstitute of Arbitrators (CIArb, Kenya Branch) and Mr Gichinga Ndirangu of Kenya Private Sector Alliance.

Other members nominated to represent their organisation are: Ms Salome Patricia Mukabana from the Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya (ICPAK), Mr Munene Waruhiu from the Institute of Certified Public Secretaries of Kenya, Ms Nuru Mugambi from the Kenya Bankers Association, Ms Gladwell Mumia from the Federation of Kenya Employers, Dr Kennedy Nyaundi from the International Commission of Jurists (Kenyan Chapter), and Mr Meshack Museli Khisa of the Central Organizations of Trade Unions.

The Chief Justice also appointed Mr Abdul Omar of the Judiciary as the Acting Registrar of the Committee.

The appointments are in line with Section 59 A (1) and (2) of the Civil Procedure Act.

Arsenal release Beckham’s son
The Gunners had apparently rated Brooklyn highly, and believe he could still make it elsewhere, but it’s unclear...
Why Kenyan boxers are winning medals once again
The BFK led by President Anthony ‘Jamal’ Ombok was elected into the office in 2019 and has since...
Share this story