× Digital News Videos Africa Health & Science Opinion Columnists Education Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Gender Planet Action Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS


Bandari rule national championships

By Ernest Ndunda | Dec 14th 2019 | 2 min read
Khandwala Mohammed from Bandari Swim Club competes in the boys 200m Individual Medlay breaststroke category on the second day of the National Age group and Open Swimming gala at the Oshwal Academy pool, Saturday October 25, 2014. [PHOTO BY GIDEON MAUNDU/STANDARD].

Bandari swimmers proved their mettle after they won most of the races at the national swimming championships in Mombasa yesterday.

The Bandari club, who are coached by former national swimmer Fakry Mansoor, dominated individual and relays to inch closer to the title defence.

Bandari club’s Stephen Ndegwa, Rushab Shah, Shiven Bechra and Kunaal Khagram won boys’ 16 years and over 200m freestyle relays in a time of 1.46.17.

In the girls' 16 years and over 200m freestyle relays, Bandari went undefeated thanks to Catherine Mason, Riva Karia, Kimberly Nyawira and Saloni Patel who won in 2.03.71.

In individual races, Zikra Jaffer (Blue Ocean) timed 37.07 to win girls’ 10-11 years 50m backstroke while Tugi Mwige of Mombasa Aquatic won the girls’ 12-13 years 50m backstroke in a time of 36.02. Mombasa Aquatic’s Gakenia Mwige went ahead to win the girls’ 14-15 years 50m backstroke in 33.50. Bandari’s Catherine Mason clocked 34.65 to win the girls’ 16 years and over 50m backstroke.

In the boys’ 10-11 years 50m backstroke, Yannick Kamphuis from Seahorses Club timed 38.03 to win as Ivan Hart from Mombasa Aquatic clocked 32.21 to win boys’ 12-13 years 50m backstroke. Aryen Muravvej and Kunaal Khagram of Bandari clocked 31.07 and 29.45 minutes to win boys’ 14-15 and 16 years and over 50m backstroke respectively.

In girls 10-11 years 100m breaststroke, Bandari’s Duini Caffini won in 1.29.93 while Blue Ocean’s Maria Bianchi timed 1.23.86 to win the girls’ 12-13 years 100m breaststroke. Tory Pragassa of Seahorses clocked 1.06.44 to win boys’ 16 years and over 100m breaststroke.

In 200m individual medley (I&M), Jasmin Kimani from Otters club won in 2.42.21 with Siegfred Katumwa from Bandari winning the boys’ 16 years and over 200m individual medley.

Riva Karia of Bandari timed 30.28 to win girls’ 16 years and over 50m freestyle with Cian Omondi from Makini Schools Sports Academy winning the boys’ 16 years and over 50m freestyle.

Share this story
Solskjaer backs resurgent Man Utd to battle for top four
Manchester United manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has said his side need time to develop but has backed them to...
When Njonjo almost resigned over coffee smugglers
Known as the era of black gold, it began in 1976 when Ugandan farmers decided to sell their coffee in the private market.