Rugby: Strathmore Leos dethrone oilers to win 2022 Embu Sevens

Strathmore Leos players celebrates victory against Homeboyz RFC opponents during their Kenya Cup match at RFUEA Grounds in Nairobi on January 29, 2022. Strathmore Leos won 30-24. [Stafford Ondego, Standard]

Strathmore Leos are the 2022 Embu Sevens champions.

The university side were crowned champions after defeating defending champions Menengai Oilers 19-12 in the final staged at Njukiri Showgrounds.

Embu Sevens returned after two years of absence caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

In 2019, Menengai Oilers defeated Nakuru 14-12 to win the title.

In the final, Brunson Madigu gave Leos a 7-0 lead before Steve Arunga replied with an unconverted try that reduced the scores to 7-5.

Strathmore stretched their lead with a try by Philemon Olang but the conversion went wide as the university students took a 12-5 lead at the break.

On return from the break, Amos Onyinkwa landed a try for Menengai Oilers to tie the scores at 12-12 after conversion by Davis Nyaundi.

Glory would however belong to Leos after Barnabas Owuor scored the winner which was converted for a 19-12 win.

Oilers eliminated MMUST 20-12 win in the semifinals to reach the finals while Strathmore Leos saw off Nakuru RFC.

 The tournament is being used by clubs as a warm-up for the National Sevens Circuit which is set to kick off later this month with Kabeberi 7s at RFUEA Grounds.

MMUST welcome former champions KCB in Kakamega
Kabras Sugar eye second win against Mean Machine in Nairobi
Shujaa draw with champions Australia in Dubai Sevens opener
Shujaa out to put recent financial troubles behind them at Dubai 7s