Karungo Thang'wa elected as Senate Roads, Transport and Housing Committee chairperson

Kiambu Senator Karungo Thang'wa. [Courtesy: Twitter, @KarungoThangwa]

Kiambu Senator Karungo Thang'wa has been elected as the Chairperson of the Senate Roads, Transport and Housing Committee while Nominated Senator Peris Tobiko has been elected as the Committee Vice Chairperson.

Thang'wa said that he will work closely with the Roads, Transport and Public Works Cabinet Secretary when he assumes office to ensure that Roads infrastructure across the country especially in areas that have been ignored for long are improved.

“We have a huge responsibility as the Senate Roads, Transportation and Public Works Committee to ensure that our people have better roads since they are key to the economic growth of the country and achievement of President William Ruto Plan for prosperity,” said Thangwa.

The Kiambu Senator said they will lobby to ensure that priority is given to the most deserving road projects since it is the goal of the Kenya Kwanza Alliance administration to empower citizens from the bottom up irrespective of their political affiliation in the recent election.

Senator Tobiko said that they will work together as a committee to make a difference in the next five years with Kenyans looking up to them to ensure they properly advise the government on which roads needed urgent attention to enable Kenyans easily access various areas.

Tobiko said that the committee need to look to counties such as Kajiado, Machakos and Kiambu which neighbour Nairobi with most people working in the City leaving there and that it was imperative the road network was good so as to ensure there is easy accessibility at all times.

“Kajiado, Machakos and Kiambu are considered as bedrooms for most city dwellers, while we give priority to the development of the roads in the city we also need not to forget the three counties since if they are ignored the city will definitely feel the effect,” said Tobiko.

Nairobi Senator Edwin Sifuna said the committee needs to address road classification since sometimes it is not clear who is supposed to handle a particular project leading to uncertainty which could have been avoided if there was a clear roadmap over who is in charge.

Sifuna said that there was need to address the issue of Express way since it is currently serving a few individuals who can afford to pay the fees charged and not able to help reduce the heavy traffic jam in the city as was expected when the project was initiated.

Committee Members; John Kinyua (Laikipia), Mohamed Chute (Marsabit), Steve Lelegwe (Samburu), Enoch Wambua (Kitui), Moses Kajwang(Homabay) and Stewart Madzayo (Kilifi) promised to work with the committee leadership to ensure it achieves its objectives.