Kenya Kwanza picks Kimani Ichung'wah, Aaron Cheruiyot for Majority Leader posts

Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung'wah. [Wilberforce Okwiri, Standard]

The Kenya Kwanza Alliance has fronted Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung'wah as its Majority Leader in the National Assembly.

Ichung'wah will be deputised by Kilifi North MP Owen Baya.

The President William Ruto-led alliance has been camping in Naivasha for the weekend to elect House leadership.

South Mugirango MP Sylvanus Osoro has been picked as Kenya Kwanza's Chief Whip in the National Assembly and will be deputised by Marsabit Woman Representative Naomi Waqo.

While in the Senate where Kenya Kwanza controls the majority, the alliance has proposed Kericho Senator Aaron Cheruiyot for the Majority leader post and Kakamega Senator Boni Khalwale for Chief Whip.

Cheruiyot will be deputised by Nakuru Senator Tabitha Karanja while Khalwale will be assisted by Samburu Senator Steve Lelegwe.

Both Kenya Kwanza and the Raila Odinga -led Azimio Coalition maintain that they have the majority numbers in the National Assembly.

Nominated MP John Mbadi on September 8 said that Azimio had received a letter from the Registrar of Political Parties (RPP) confirming that it was the majority coalition in the National Assembly.

Azimio had some 162 MPs- the majority representation in the National Assembly after the August 9 polls.

But Ruto's Kenya Kwanza has since increased its representation to 184 MPs after some parties decamped to Kenya Kwanza after the August 9 elections.

In case of a dispute on which coalition has the majority representation in the House, the Speaker of the National Assembly or the Senate can make a verdict.