Kenya Kwanza’s bag of promises as it inks deal with 11 other parties

Deputy President William Ruto addressing Kenya Kwanza Alliance members. [David Gichuru, Standard]

At least 11 more political parties have officially joined UDA, Ford-Kenya and ANC in Kenya Kwanza Coalition.

The 11 parties are Chama Cha Kazi, Communist Party of Kenya, Devolution Party of Kenya, Economic Freedom Party, Farmers’ Party, KADU Asili Party, Shirikisho Party of Kenya, The Service Party, Tujibebe Wakenya Party, Umoja Maendeleo Party and Umoja Summit Party.

The parties signed a coalition agreement with the United Democratic Alliance (UDA), Ford-Kenya and Amani National Congress (ANC) on Tuesday, April 12 at the Ngong Racecourse in Nairobi.

The event was presided over by Deputy President William Ruto.

In his address, the DP pledged to improve Kenya’s overall welfare should he win the August 9 presidential election. He placed political stability and economic recovery at the heart of his manifesto.

“We are going to change the political foundation of the country. This journey is not about a person but the people of Kenya,”he said.

Taking a swipe at the Raila Odinga-led Azimio-OKA coalition, Ruto said the country needs a tested and proven leadership that would “provide answers to the questions that Kenyans have”.

ANC leader Musalia Mudavadi and Ford-Kenya’s Moses Wetangula exuded confidence that Kenya Kwanza coalition would produce the country’s fifth president.

“There is trust deficit in the other [political] side. We cannot afford [to have] the politics of deceit,” Mudavadi said about Azimio la Umoja outfit.

The ceremony was attended by Mathira MP Rigathi Gachagua, Kiharu MP Ndindi Nyoro, Malindi MP Aisha Jumwa, Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru, among others.