The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Shujaa to face Argentina in 2022-2023 season opening Hong Kong Sevens

 Shujaa's Billy Odhiambo is caught by the Ireland defense during Vancouver Sevens. [Courtesy-World Rugby]

Kenya Sevens will kick off their 2022-2023 World Rugby Sevens Series campaign with a tricky fixture against Argentina, Ireland and Canada in a tricky Group D in the season-opening Hong Kong Sevens scheduled to take place from November 4 next month in Japan.

In the new season, Shujaa will be aiming to get the much elusive consistency that saw them finish the 2022 campaign in a disappointing 12th position

The Damian McGrath will open their campaign on Friday, November 4, with a clash against 2022 Rugby World Cup bronze medalists Ireland before they face South America heavyweights Argentina.

Shujaa will afterward close their group phase with a match against Canada who finished behind them in the 2022 Series standings.

Group A comprises of series defending champions Australia, New Zealand, Samoa and hosts Hong Kong who are the invited team for the season opener in arguably the Group of Death.

South Africa, who will be beginning life under the stewardship of new head coach Sandile Ngcobo who replaced Neill Powell, will be taking on France, Great Britain and Uruguay in Group B.

Group C will feature Olympic and Rugby World Cup champions Fiji taking on USA, Spain and Japan.

Meanwhile, in the 2023 campaign, the top four men's and women's teams will secure their ticket to the Paris 2024 Olympic Games courtesy of finishing among the best four nations.


Group A: Australia, New Zealand, Samoa, Hong Kong

Group B: South Africa, France, Great Britain, Uruguay

Group C: Fiji, USA, Spain, Japan

Group D: Argentina, Ireland, Kenya, Canada

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week