The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Odera names training squad for final Rugby World Cup qualification

Quick Meals
 Geoffrey Okwatch (L) and Isaac Njoroge (C) of Kenya contest for ball with Edward Mumba of Zambia of Kenya contest for ball with Edward Mumba of Zambia during return leg of Victoria Cup match at at RFUEA grounds on August 24, 2019. Photo/Stafford Ondego/www.sportpicha.com

Kenya Simbas head coach Paul Odera has named a 38-man Simbas training squad in preparation for the 2023 Rugby World Cup final qualification tournament set for Dubai from November 6th to 18th.

With the exception of winger Derrick Ashiundu and prop Ian Njenga who is recuperating after sustaining long-term injuries, Odera has kept the core of the squad that did duty at the Currie Cup First Division tournament in South Africa and the Rugby Africa Cup in Marseille, France in July this year.

Homeboyz youngster Amon Wamalwa and KCB's Geoffrey Okwach are the only new additions to the training squad which begins training today.

The Simbas missed out on direct qualification to the Rugby World Cup set for France in 2023 after finishing as runners-up to Namibia in the Rugby Africa Cup final, when they fell to a 36-0 defeat.

They will face off with the USA, Portugal and Hong Kong for qualification for the global event.

Simbas Training Squad:


Edward Mwaura (Menengai Oilers), Melvin Thairu (Kenya Harlequin), Andrew Siminyu (University of Johannesburg), Eugene Sifuna (Kabras Sugar), Teddy Akala (Kabras Sugar), Brian Waraba (Kenya Harlequin), Patrick Ouko (KCB), Ephraim Oduor (Kabras Sugar), Joseph Odero (Kabras Sugar), Davis Chenge (KCB), Malcolm Onsando (CS Dinamo Bucaresti, Romania), Thomas Okeyo (University of Johannesburg), Brian Juma (Kabras Sugar), Shem Joseph (Kabras Sugar), George Nyambua (Kabras Sugar), Bethuel Anami (Strathmore Leos), Daniel Sikuta (Kabras Sugar), Martin Owilah (KCB), Clinton Odhiambo (Menengai Oilers), Brian Ndirangu (Menengai Oilers)


Samuel Asati (KCB), Brian Wahinya (KCB), Brian Tanga (Kabras Sugar), Jone Kubu (Kabras Sugar), Beldad Ogeta (Menengai Oilers), John Okoth (Menengai Oilers), Timothy Okwemba (Menengai Oilers), Collins Injera (Mwamba), Vincent Onyala (KCB), Bryceson Adaka (Kabras Sugar), Peter Kilonzo (KCB), Jacob Ojee (KCB), Darwin Mukidza (KCB), Geoffrey Ominde (Menengai Oilers), Amon Wamalwa (Homeboyz), Geoffrey Okwach (KCB), Andrew Matoka (Principia College, USA), Dominic Coulson (University of Exeter, England)

Related Topics


Similar Articles


Recommended Articles