15 Meru MCAs summoned by EACC

The Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) has summoned 15 Meru MCAs as it investigates their conduct during an April 11 incident.

The letter inviting the reps to appear says they had been summoned to ‘facilitate investigations’.

According to the letter dated June 7 and addressed to Justus Kiambi Ariithi and copied to Speaker Joseph Kaberia, the MCAs (both nominated and elected), will appear in the commission’s Isiolo offices on June 19 and June 20.

The EACC could have summoned the reps to shed light on an incident where Nominated MCA Secondina Kanini and other parties were violently blocked from accessing the chambers to swear her in.

Water bottles were thrown, punches thrown and there was an attempt to grab the mace from the sergeant-at-arms.

Kanini replaced Lucy Kanini who resigned as MCA and from Kenya Patriots Party.

Some MCAs opposed to the nomination of Kanini by KPP blocked Kaberia and others from entering the chamber.

“The Commission pursuant to its Constitutional and statutory mandate as set out under Article 252 (a) of the Constitution, Section 11 of the EACC Act, 2011 and Section 4 (2) and 42 (10) of the Leadership and Integrity Act, 2012 is investigating allegations touching on the conduct of Members of the County Assembly of Meru on 11th April 2019,” read the letter signed by Kipsang Sambai on behalf of EACC’s Secretary and CEO.

It said they would like the State Officers to appear to shed light on the matter and record statements.

“We believe the MCAs summoned are to be questioned on what transpired when some of them caused a commotion,” said the sources who requested anonymity.

The source said the EACC could have become aware of the incident through footage aired by television stations.

Those summoned to appear on June 19 are Betty Kinya, Jackson Gitonga, Martin Mworia, Sarah Gakii, Esther Karimi, Salome Kirito and George Muthuri.

Those to appear the following day are Kimathi Ithibua, Fridah Mwendwa, Kinyua Toribu, Robert Kinoti, John Kireria, Priscilla Karauki, Elias Murega and Makena Muthaura.

But on May 9 when Majority Leader Victor Kariithi moved a motion to approve her nomination, MCAs confirmed her and she was sworn in.

Kanini, who was a nominated MCA in the first assembly and one of Governor Kiraitu Murungi’s key supporters in the county, told the House she had no grudge against her opposers.

“Even if there were issues before let me assure you I have forgiven you. I am a KPP member but when it comes to duties I will be guided by the law. I hold no grudges. We should have a unity of purpose regardless of party affiliations,” she said.