Ruto allies say President Uhuru set record straight on graft

Deputy President William Ruto with Mzee Abdi during a women’s empowerment programme in Isiolo South yesterday. [DPPS]
Several MPs have endorsed Thursday’s State of the Nation address, saying it set the record straight in the fight against corruption.

The legislators said President Uhuru Kenyatta’s statement would bring an end to political witch-hunt “propagated by the Opposition”.

In particular, the leaders said political temperatures would go down, offering a conducive environment for the government to focus on transforming the country. “The country had grown weary of politics in funerals. It had also become sick of propaganda against other leaders. As leaders, we must engage in sober politics that will make our country better,” said Isiolo Senator Fatuma Dullo.

She said the Opposition had been abusing the handshake to create division in government with the hope of making Jubilee appear as a failure in the eyes of Kenyans.

SEE ALSO :We won’t accept dirty cash, UK tells money launders

“We cannot move forward as a country when some leaders plot to bring others down. Our unity is a key ingredient in ensuring that the Big Four agenda is realised,” she said.

The senator spoke yesterday during a meeting with wananchi in Isiolo South constituency in the company of Deputy President William Ruto and governors Abdi Kuti (Isiolo) and Mutahi Kahiga of Nyeri.

The Deputy President said Jubilee should avoid being fixed in the Opposition “trap that we have not done anything for Kenyans”. “We have a track record of what we have done as Jubilee. Do not give us a lecture of propaganda because we know where we are taking this country,” he said.

MPs present included Ali Rasso (Saku), Hassan Oda Hulufo (Isiolo North), Abdi Koropu Tepo (Isiolo South), Qalicha Gufu (Moyale), Omar Maalim (Mandera East), Musa Arbelle (Laisamis) and Abdikarim Osman (Fafi). 

We are undertaking a survey to help us improve our content for you. This will only take 1 minute of your time, please give us your feedback by clicking HERE. All responses will be confidential.

CorruptionPresident Uhuru KenyattaState of the Nation addressWilliam RutoWilliam Ruto