NASA MPs refuse to form committee to vet Uhuru's cabinet nominees

National Assembly Minority Leader John Mbadi. [File picture/Standard]

The National Super Alliance (NASA) leadership in the National Assembly yesterday told the House clerk, Michael Sialai, it could not provide names of its MPs to sit in the Committee on Appointments because it did not recognise Uhuru Kenyatta’s presidency.

Minority Leader John Mbadi told the Clerk according to the alliance, the Presidency was yet to be filled substantively and as such, there was no reason to constitute the House committee whose sole mandate is to vet nominees to the Cabinet.

“I decline to make proposals for the appointment to the Committee on Appointment until when the office of the appointing authority, the Presidency, will be occupied substantively,” said Mbadi.

Mbadi was responding to a letter from the Clerk asking him to propose names from Opposition alliance to sit in the committee. Majority Leader Aden Duale said consideration of the committee members would be a top priority on Tuesday next week before the House proceeds for Christmas recess next Thursday.