Raila declares no election if demands are not met Next Story
NASA: Uhuru has conceded defeat Previous Story
You are here  » Home   » Politics

Two NASA MPs defy Raila’s order, attend President Uhuru’s Parliament address

By Waweru Titus | Published Tue, September 12th 2017 at 21:40, Updated September 12th 2017 at 22:42 GMT +3

National Super Alliance (NASA) Members of Parliament (MPs) boycotted President Uhuru Kenyatta’s address for the opening of the 12th Parliament on Tuesday.

Only Webuye East MP Alfred Sambu (Amani National Congress) and Hamisi MP Charles Gimose (Ford Kenya) attended Uhuru’s address.

ALSO READ: IEBC bosses bury hatchet, promise Kenyans credible repeat election

The judges of the Supreme Court also skipped the joint sitting of Parliament.

NASA co-principal Moses Wetang’ula had on Monday said that Opposition MPs would not attend opening of the Parliament.

"The President does not have power to convene or schedule the opening of the newly-elected parliament. That duty awaits the President who will assume office after being sworn in by the Chief Justice upon taking and subscribing to the oath of allegiance and the oath for the execution of the functions of office as provided by the Constitution," said Wetang’ula.

"Nasa members will, therefore, not attend the purported opening of Parliament on Tuesday as directed by the Speakers of both Houses,” he added.