Next Story
You are here  » Home   » Central

Jubilee Party Scoops Six MPs seats in Nyeri as voters adopt six piece voting pattern

By Nderitu Gichure | Published Sun, August 13th 2017 at 15:47, Updated August 13th 2017 at 15:58 GMT +3
President Uhuru Kenyatta displays certificate moments after he was declared Winner of the 2017 Presidential Election at the Bomas of Kenya.

Jubilee Party (JP) candidates in Nyeri County swept all elective seats by bagging six parliamentary positions, governorship and senatorial seat.

Virtually all independent candidates lost to mostly newcomers save for Kieni MP Kanini Kega. The MP was re-elected with over 61,320 votes against his closet challenger Joseph Wainana with 9,415 votes.

Governor Samuel Wamathai was beaten by Wahome Gakuru who got 252,040 votes, translating to 72 per cent, against the former's 78,227.

Wamathai vied as an independent candidate after losing to Gakuru in the JP nominations. He rose to the throne early this year after the death of Governor Nderitu Gachagua.

In the Senate race, former Mathira MP Ephraim Maina has made a comeback in politics after almost 10 years in the cold.

Closest rival

The billionaire businessman won with 239,629 against his closest rival Daniel Wamahiu who got 87,179 votes.

Rahab Mukami of JP bagged the woman representative seat after managing to get 228,997 to trounce the incumbent Priscilla Nyokabi who got 94,326.

In Othaya, Gichuki Mugambi won the seat which was once held by former President Mwai Kibaki for 38 years.

Mugambi, who was competing against his cousin Peter King'ara, got 19,025 votes against the chairman of the Constituency Development Fund Wambugu Wainaina who garnered 10,666.

In the neighbouring Mukurweini, seasoned politician Kabando wa Kabando, running as an independent candidate, lost to businessman Antony Kiai who got 20,780 against the MP's 9,624.

In Nyeri Town, Ngunjiri Wambugu won the parliamentary seat with 42,464 votes against his closest rival and former chief of staff in the county government of Nyeri Duncan Mathenge who got 11,919 votes.

In Tetu, MP Ndun'gu Githenji lost to lawyer Gichuhi Mwangi who trounced 16 other to win by getting 19,025 against the MP's 5,206. In Mathira, Rigathi Gachagua won the seat with 49,628 votes.

Would you like to get published on Standard Media websites? You can now email us breaking news, story ideas, human interest articles or interesting videos on: [email protected]