Today's Paper
You are here  » Home   » Rift Valley

Ruto allies handed heavy defeat in Uasin Gishu

By - | Published Sun, January 20th 2013 at 00:00, Updated January 19th 2013 at 21:55 GMT +3
Jubilee coalition aspirants Jackson Mandago for Eldoret governorship (right), Eusula
Ngeny (centre), Women Representative, and Isaac Muli - senator celebrate after they
won URP nominations in Eldoret on Saturday.  [PHOTO: PETER OCHIENG/STANDARD]

By Vincent Bartoo and Titus Too

ELDORET; KENYA: Allies of URP leader William Ruto were defeated in his Uasin Gishu County home turf, in an apparent protest vote.

Those billed frontrunners also lost, as newcomers won in the URP primaries. Those who lost include Julius Bitok for Uasin Gishu Governor, Ruto’s former Constituency Development Fund Chairman and campaign manager, Isaac Maiyo, who was eying Turbo constituency.

Others were outgoing Eldoret Mayor William Rono (Turbo) and Wareng County Council Chairman Paul Kiprop who vied for Uasin Gishu County Senate.

Caleb Kositany and Hezekiah Kosgey who were eyeing Soy constituency were also defeated while Joseph Lagat was trounced in nominations for Moiben constituency.

Ruto’s Eldoret North constituency was split into Soy and Turbo constituencies.

The senate and governor positions were taken by new entrants while a former councillor clinched the women county representative seat.

Your opinion is valuable. Take this quick survey to help us improve the website and content

Isaac Melly was nominated to run for the Senate with 62,366 votes against Kiprop’s 25,446. Jackson Mandago garnered 70,685 votes to clinch the Governor ticket followed by Dr Bitok with 36,126 votes.

Former deputy mayor Eusilah Ngeny beat seven other candidates with 63,858 votes to win the party ticket for women representative.

The nominations were held jointly between URP and TNA under the Jubilee alliance. County returning officer Hillary Kemboi announced results for the senate, governor and women county representative at the URP party office in Eldoret on Saturday.

In Moiben, Silas Tiren got 19,185 votes to win the URP ticket while former Eldoret East MP and Ruto ally Lagat was second with 7,378.

Edwin Barchile won URP ticket for Soy constituency while former councillor Elisha Busienei was nominated for Turbo parliamentary seat.

Oscar Sudi, another Ruto ally was the only winner after he was nominated for the Kapseret parliamentary seat also in Uasin Gishu County.

Would you like to get published on Standard Media websites? You can now email us breaking news, story ideas, human interest articles or interesting videos on: [email protected]