Limo edges out rivals at Mombasa IEBC race

By Ernest Ndunda        

Jackson Limo, from Eldoret, yesterday outpaced his challengers to win the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) sponsored Mombasa open marathon at the Treasury Square in Mombasa County.

Limo timed twenty nine minutes 09.23 seconds to win the men’s senior 10km event.

“I am happy to have won the race. The weather was good same as the route, which was well marked,” said Limo.

John Cheruiyot clocked 29.09.99 for the second slot while Peter Maina from Nyeri came in third with a time of 29.11.54. Erastus Mumo of Ngong had a time of 29.14.94 for the fourth position.

Others were James Kiplimo (29.17.39), Phestas Talamu (29.33.73), Peter Wahome (29.37.56), Andrew Lesuda (29.42.30), Bernard Muriithi  (30.07.23), Daniel Muindi (30.07.63).

In men’s 5km senior category, Edwin Korir was the best runner with a time of 15:04.96 with Christopher Rono settling for the second slot timed at 15.28.10 ahead of third placed  Samuel Ngari15.29.58.

Others were John Mwangi (15.35.47), Peter Mwanzia (15.47.95), John Mutisya (15.57.55), Charles Njenga (15.59.35), Ferdinand Wamutibi (16.34.57), Titus Ndegwa (16.47.60), Mathew Wachira (17.25.12).

In 5km junior men, Titus Kathoka won with a time of 17.23.13 while Jonah Kinuthia clocked 17.23.24 for the second position edging out Lazarus Mutinda for third in 17.23.38. Ronald Ngige (17.24.59), Augustine Bungi (17.25.33) and Maron Kioko (17.26.37) settled for fourth, fifth and sixth slots respectively.

In women senior 5km, Jacinta Mbaoni clocked 17.52.12 for the top position while Jenny Nyambura was second after timing 18.06.36 while Alice Muriithi clocked 19.06.67. Naomi Jepkosgei (20.17.47) wa sfourth ahead of Phidiliah Mwangeka (21.39.79), Zipporah Cleman (22.17.15) and Bornes Jelimo (22.32.24).

Hemed Alawy, a commissioner with IEBC oversaw the race saying there was an increment in voter registration.