Today's Paper
You are here  » Home   » Politics

Cabinet Secretary Nominees to be sworn in Wednesday

By By Cyrus Ombati | Published Wed, May 15th 2013 at 00:00, Updated May 15th 2013 at 08:54 GMT +3

By Cyrus Ombati

Nairobi, Kenya: Cabinet Secretary Nominees will be sworn in today at 11am at State House after they were approved by parliament and their names gazetted.

The swearing in ceremony to be witnessed by President Uhuru Kenyatta will officiated by Chief Justice Willy Mutunga and Chief Registrar Gladys Shollei.

All the 16 nominees were approved by parliament on Tuesday evening.

An amendment motion moved by Rachael Shebesh saved the nomination of Phyllis Kandie to head the East African Affairs, Commerce and Tourism docket after the House passed it.

The Appointment Committee had rejected Kandie but parliament overturned their decision.

The other Cabinet Secretary nominees are Henry Rotich for The National Treasury, James Wainaina Macharia (Health), Dr Hassan Wario (Sports Culture and Arts), Prof Jacob Kaimenyi (Education), Ann Waiguru (Devolution and Planning), Davis Chirchir (Energy and Petroleum), Charity Ngilu (Land, Housing and Urban Development) and Prof Judy Wakhungu for Environment, Water and Natural Resource.

Stay informed while on the go by subscribing to the Standard Group SMS service. Text the word 'NEWS' to 22840.

Other Cabinet Secretary Nominees are Adan Mohammed (Industrialisation and Enterprise Development), Raychelle Omamo (Defence), Amina Mohammed (Foreign Affairs), Fred Matiang’i (ICT), Michael Kamau (Transport and Infrastructure), Najib Balala (Mining) and Felix Kosgey for Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries.

Would you like to get published on Standard Media websites? You can now email us breaking news, story ideas, human interest articles or interesting videos on: [email protected]