× Digital News Videos Opinions Cartoons Education E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS
The national women volleyball team start the 2014 FIVB Grand Prix with what is expected to be a potential thriller against hosts Mexico Saturday.

The match will be played at the Olympic de la Perrera Hall starting at 3am East Africa Time.

Sources in Mexico told FeverPitch that other teams in the Group Three- Algeria and Bulgaria play the opening match of the tournament today.

Kenyans are seeking their first match victory outside Africa and the Grand Prix tournament offers the best opportunity for them to break the jinx.

SEE ALSO: Change ye first your ways and all the reforms you desire will come

Kenya is placed 13th in the FIVB rankings and this places them top of all the countries that are pooled in Group Three.

Team manager David Kilundo said shortly before they departed for Mexico that time has come for Kenya to win their first match outside Africa.

"The players selected to represent the country are experienced enough to deliver in Grand Prix," he said.

And in Mexico, head coach David Lung'aho told a press conference that his team have been preparing for the last two months and were in Mexico to make a mark.

"We are here to leave a positive mark beginning with the opening clash against Mexico" Lungáho said.

SEE ALSO: Hope for youth as Uhuru launches empowerment programme

After the Mexico tournament, Kenya will move to Croatia where they play second round matches against the hosts, Czech Republic, Kazakhstan and Australia.

The top two teams from this Group Three are assured of a place in the finals that will be played in Bulgaria next month.

The Kenyan team went to Mexico without playing any international build-up match but the technical bench believe the players are experienced enough to take on any opponent in the Grand Prix.

"The team is a composition of experienced and upcoming players who have shown they are able to play at top level," Kilundo said.

Most of the players in the team, especially those from Kenya Prisons, have played in high profile events like World Championships and World Club Championships.

SEE ALSO: Heroes council lauds recognition of Mekatilili wa Menza by Google

Kenyan captain Bracksides Agala said they are out to do Africa proud in the tournament.

Agala said: "Our international record bothers us so much and we are eager to put things straight. We are representing Africa at this level and so essentially this is our World Cup. That in itself is enough motivation."

Kenya however will have to be wary of an equally impressive Mexican team who arrive for the tourney straight from securing a move to the World Championships set for Italy this September.

Mexico defeated Costa Rica, Panama, Necoraua and hosts Trinidad and Tobago during the qualifying matches staged last month enroute to achieving this feat.

"We will use this tournament as a build up for the World Championships but make no mistake we are in it to win it" Mexican coach Jorge Azair reiterated.

The World Grand Prix 2014, which will be staged from July 25 to August 24, will feature 28 teams for the first time in its history.

The teams are split into three groups, which will culminate in their own finals.

Groups Two (Pools J to O) and three (Pools P to S) will start their preliminary round action on July 25 followed by Group One (Pools A to I) on August 1.

Group One features 12 teams including defending champions, London 2012 Olympic winners and world number one Brazil, USA, Japan, China, Russia, Italy, Serbia, the Dominican Republic, Germany, Korea, Turkey and Thailand.

Group Two includes eight teams - Poland, Peru, Puerto Rico, the Netherlands, Argentina, Canada, Cuba and Belgium.

Group Three also includes eight teams - Kenya, Algeria, Kazakhstan, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Mexico, Bulgaria and Australia.

[email protected]

Covid 19 Time Series


Kenya Mexico FIVB Grand Prix
Share this story


Read More