Eddie Jones urges England to inspire the nation with Rugby World Cup victory

By Mirror: Friday, November 1st 2019 at 10:30 GMT +3 | Rugby


Eddie Jones preparing for his 50th Test in charge. [Courtesy]

Kyle Sinckler has won his fitness race to play in the World Cup final - allowing Eddie Jones to name an unchanged team for the first time in more than three years.

Sinckler, one of the stars of this tournament, suffered a calf injury in the semi-final win over New Zealand and has not trained fully so far this week.

But he has been passed fit to start against South Africa in Yokohama in what will be Jones’ 50th game in charge.

England have lost only nine of those games and are favourites to beat the Springboks and reclaim a title they last won in 2003.

Jones has decided that retaining George Ford at fly-half offers England the best chance to impose their game on the ultra-physical Boks, who triumphed the last time the two nations met in a final back in 2007.

To get the latest soccer news, text 'SPORTS' to 22840.

The only change to England's matchday squad is on the bench where Willi Heinz's injury means Ben Spencer is named as replacement scrum-half just three days after arriving from Saracens as emergency cover.

South Africa make just one change with right-winger Cheslin Kolbe returning after injury.

England starting XV

15 Elliot Daly (Saracens, 38 caps)

14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 41 caps)

13 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 39 caps)

12 Owen Farrell (capt, Saracens, 78 caps)

11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 51 caps)

10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 64 caps)

9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 94 caps)

1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 57 caps)

2 Jamie George (Saracens, 44 caps)

3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 30 caps)

4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 33 caps)

5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 80 caps)

6 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 18 caps)

7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 14 caps)

8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 50 caps)


16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 20 caps)

17 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 67 caps)

18 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 94 caps)

19 George Kruis (Saracens, 40 caps)

20 Mark Wilson (Sale Sharks/ Newcastle Falcons 17 caps)

21 Ben Spencer (Saracens, 3 caps)

22 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 26 caps)

23 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 46 caps)



For More of This and Other Sports Stories Subscribe to the Standard Epaper