Azimio names MPs for 'Majority Leadership' in the National Assembly

Suna East MP Junet Mohamed (L) having a conversation with Azimio leader Raila Odinga. [File, Standard]

The Azimio la Umoja-One Kenya Coalition leadership maintains that they are the majority in the National Assembly.

As a result, the coalition has fronted the names of Ugunja Member of Parliament (MP) Opiyo Wandayi (ODM) for Majority Leader position and Suna East MP Junet Mohamed (ODM) for Majority Whip.

Wandayi's deputy, as per Azimio, will be Kathiani MP Robert Mbui (Wiper Party).

Nominated MP Sabina Chege (Jubilee), as per Azimio's proposed lineup, will be Junet Mohamed's deputy.

At the Senate, where Azimio comprises the minority representation, Kilifi Senator Stewart Madzayo (ODM) has been picked for Minority Leader, to be deputised by Kitui Senator Enoch Wambua (Wiper Party).

Isiolo Senator Fatuma (Jubilee) has been proposed for Minority Whip in the Senate and Nairobi Senator Edwin Sifuna (ODM) as her deputy.

The proposed names were revealed by Wiper Party leader Kalonzo Musyoka during a press conference in conference in Nairobi on Saturday, September 17.

Nominated MP John Mbadi on September 8 said that Azimio la Umoja-One Kenya had received a letter from the Registrar of Political Parties confirming that it was the majority coalition in the National Assembly.

The confusion comes after some parties decamped to Kenya Kwanza after August 9 elections, with President William Ruto, the leader of Kenya Kwanza, saying that the outfit has a higher number of MPs in the National Assembly, hence deserves to have the majority leadership.

In case of a dispute on which coalition has the majority representation in the House, the Speaker of the National Assembly or the Senate can make a verdict.

Both National Assembly and the Senate are controlled by Kenya Kwanza-sponsored speakers. Former Bungoma Senator Moses Wetangula is the Speaker of the National Assembly while Amason Kingi, the immediate former Governor of Kilifi County, is the Speaker of the Senate.

Before certain political parties decamped, Azimio la Umoja, which had over 162 MPs, had the majority representation in the National Assembly.

However, after the decamping of some MPs and the acquisition of a majority of independent members, Kenya Kwanza's representation in the National Assembly increased to 184.

In the Senate, it was undisputable that Kenya Kwanza, with 26 elected senators, had the majority.

Azimio maintains that the window for affiliate parties to formally exit pre-election agreements is yet to be opened, and therefore the parties that have announced exit from Azimio la Umoja-One Kenya, such as United Democratic Movement, still remain members of the coalition.

As per the law, following the August 9, 2022 elections, the earliest time that political parties can quit pre-election coalition agreements is November 2022.