UDA nominations: List of winners, losers and the votes that they got

Naivasha MP Jayne Kihara (L) lost in the UDA primaries while Oscar Sudi (R) had a resounding victory in Kapseret. [File, Standard]

Results continue to stream in a day after aspirants seeking the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) ticket participated in the primaries.

Some big names fell, others easily stormed to victory in what would be described as a night of mixed fortunes for the aspirants.

Below is a compilation by The Standard of the results announced so far:

Kericho Governor

Dr Erick Mutai won the UDA Governor ticket in the nomination exercise with 126,038 votes, trouncing former Energy CS Charles Keter, who scored 60,342 votes. Deputy Governor Lily Ngok came in third with 9,377 votes while Prof James Sang garnered 2,987votes.

Kajiado Governor

Judah Katoo Ole Metito won the UDA governor ticket with 72,679 votes. Peris Tobiko got 26,002 votes.

Nandi County

Incumbent Governor Stephen Sang clinched the party’s governor ticket with 100,490 votes while Samson Cherargey won the senate seat 100, 033 votes. 29-year-old Cynthia Muge clinched the Woman Representative seat with 97,551 votes. Julius Melly won the Tindiret MP seat, Maryanne Kitanny (Aldai), and Abraham Kirwa (Mosop). The Nandi Hills nominations have been postponed to April 19. 

Njoro MP, Nakuru County

The incumbent, Charity Kathambi, won the UDA ticket. She got 18,340 votes against her closest challenger John Kaniaru’s 3,455 votes. Others – John Njogu (1,588) and Chege Mwangi (425).

Kapseret MP, Uasin Gishu County

The incumbent, Oscar Sudi, clinched the UDA ticket after getting 14,531 votes. He overcame competition from Pauline Tuwei (4,200), Jonathan Tuwei (2,020) and David Koros (1,015).

Chesumei MP, Nandi County

Paul Biego has won the UDA ticket for Chesumei MP seat. He defeated the incumbent, Wilson Kogo. Biego got 21,370 votes while Kogo got 12,980 votes. Jonesmus Sanga came a distant third with 351 votes. Spoilt votes were 610. Chaos erupted after Kogo lost the primaries to Biego.

Laikipia East MP, Laikipia County

Laikipia Woman Representative Cate Waruguru has lost the bid to run for Laikipia East MP seat on UDA. She was defeated by Amin Deddy who got 12,743 votes. Waruguru got 5,595 votes; Anthony Mutahi came third with 2,701 votes.

Gichugu MP, Kirinyaga County

The current MP, Githinji Gichimu, amassed 13,034 votes to be declared the winner. Clement Munyua came second with 5,833 votes, and Njage Makanga third with 3,729 votes.

Cherangany MP, Trans Nzoia County

Former area MP Wesley Korir emerged the winner with 16,946 votes. Julius Tunduria came second with 7,522 votes; Joshua Kipkorir (5,332); John Njuguna (5,171 votes); Shadrack Kimutai (950) and Isaack Kogo (936).

Gilgil MP, Nakuru County

Area MP Martha Wangari wins UDA ticket in effort to defend her seat. She got 9,829 votes against her rival Stephen Gatimu’s 6,809 votes.

Keiyo North MP, Elgeyo Marakwet County

Adams Kipsanai has won the UDA ticket for Keiyo North parliamentary seat. He defeated the incumbent MP James Murgor. Kipsanai got 6,523 votes, while Murgor got 6,383 votes, a difference of 140 votes.

Pokot South MP, West Pokot County

Simon Lokanya has won the UDA ticket for Pokot South MP. He got 10,395 votes. The second person James Tekoo got 9,999 votes. Others – Arumonyang Joel Loremoi (5,744); Brian Mnangat (1,404).

Naivasha MP, Nakuru County

The incumbent MP Jayne Kihara lost the UDA ticket to her predecessor John Kihagi. Kihagi got 10,394 votes while Kihara got 9,991 votes, a difference of 403 votes. Kihara alleged she’d been rigged out.

Nyandarua County Senator

Thirty-five-year-old John Methu got 22,473 votes to clinch the UDA ticket for Nyandarua Senate seat. Kinyanjui Theuri came second with got 18,314 votes. The incumbent senator, Mwangi Githiomi, got 3,799 votes.

Baringo Central MP, Baringo County

The incumbent, Joshua Kandie, will defend his seat on UDA ticket after flooring David Kerich, the Speaker of Baringo County Assembly. Kandie got 9,505 votes while Kerich got 6,834 votes. Ex-area MP Sammy Mwaita came third with 2,115 votes; Emily Kiptui fourth with 811 votes; John Ayabei (785) and Paul Tororei (626).

Molo MP, Nakuru County

Molo MP Kuria Kimani has won the UDA ticket to defend his seat after getting 10,442 votes. Kamana Joseph came second with 2,917 votes and Kelvin Karanja 533.

Keiyo South, Elgeyo Marakwet County

The incumbent MP Daniel Rono has lost the UDA ticket battle to Gideon Kimaiyo.

Emurua Dikirr MP, Narok County

The incumbent MP Johana Ngeno got 14,381 votes to be declared the winner. He defeated David Keter, who got 8,943 votes.

Subukia MP, Nakuru County

The incumbent MP Kinuthia Gachobe has won the UDA ticket to defend his seat. He got 12,264 votes. Simon Muigai came second with 1,599 votes; Peter Mbae (1,599) and Salim Cheserem (245).

Kericho Woman Representative

The current holder, Florence Bore, lost the UDA ticket for Kericho Woman Rep seat to Beatrice Kemei. Bore got 29,673 votes against Kemei’s 43,299.

Aldai MP, Nandi County

Marianne J. Kitany, the former Chief of Staff at the Office of the Deputy President, won the Aldai Constituency UDA ticket. She defeated the current MP Cornelly Serem after getting 15,597 votes against Serem’s 13,878. Others – Osborn Komen (4,600); Robert Limo (1,062); Gilbert Kiptanui (480); John Kemboi (117) and Newton Kirwa (99).

Emgwen MP, Nandi County

Joses Lelmengit won the disputed MP seat with 4,792 seats. He beat eleven other contestants including current Woman Representative Tecla Tum, who garnered 4,144 votes. Paul Rotich (3,992), Wilfred Burjei (3,484), Joel Malel (2,904), Zipporah Kering (2,702). Area MP Alex Kosgei did not defend his seat opting for county senate race.


Mogotio MP Daniel Tuitoek won the UDA ticket. Mogotio is in Baringo County.

Baringo South MP Charles Kamuren also won the UDA ticket.

Musa Sirma also clinched the UDA ticket for Eldama Ravine MP seat. He defeated Rehema Abdul after garnering 11,688 votes. Abdul got 6,168 votes.

In Igembe South, Meru County the incumbent MP John Paul Mwirigi was given a direct UDA ticket; UDA leadership adopted consensus.

Jane Njeri Maina, 28, has won the UDA ticket for Kirinyaga Woman Representative seat. She defeated former Kirinyaga County Assembly Speaker Ann Wangeshi and private detective Jane Mugo.

We’ll keep updating the list upon confirmation of more results.