The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

MMUST eye second win against Mean Machine in University Derby

 KCB's Emmanuel Silungi wins the ball in a line out during a Kenya Cup match against MMUST in Kakamega. [Washington Onyango,Standard]

Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology (MMUST) RFC are hunting a second consecutive win of the 2023-2024 KRU Championship ahead of their University Derby clash against Mean Machine of University of Nairobi.

MMUST got off their season in the second tier league to a perfect start after thumping newbies JKUAT Cougars 36-17 in Kakamega last weekend.

Speaking ahead of the match, MMUST coach John Asila said they want to edge Mean Machine, one of the sides he believes are among the contenders for the two promotion slots.

According to KRU Rules and Regulations, the two teams that will reach the Championship final playoffs will qualify automatically to the Kenya Cup for the season 2024-2025.

Asila who has been with MMUST for the last decade said they are ready for the challenge in Nairobi.

“Mean Machine are one of the best teams in the nation. To play them this early is good for us as we want to gauge where we are in terms of defending, attacks and style of play.

“Having retained all their players despite being relegated last season shows the commitment of the team and players and we will expect a very tough match,” said Asila.


1.Collins Ngoko C 2.Ishmael Karanja 3.Javan Orlando 4.Ryan Makaka 5.Nelson Makokha 6.Benson Mwata 7.Brian Ndeda 8.Paywick Munoko 9.Veron Kaburu C 10.Washington Ombima 11.Musa Mugandi 12.Ian Oduor 13.Kelvin Bukhala 14.Sam Maboni 15.Josephat Omulefu

RESERVES: 16. Caleb Owino17.Mohammed Sadala18.Daniel Mukambi 19.Churchill Oyugi 20.Brian Luseka 21.Philip Otsyula 22.Paul Odongo 23.Byron Ogada 24.Bevon Okoth25.Ishmael Otieno

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week