The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Profiles of President Ruto appointees


Mohamed Hassan- Member, President's Council of Economic Advisors

Holds Master of Science degree in Finance, (MSc.) from the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow.

He also holds a Bachelor of Commerce (B.Com. Hons.) finance major, from the University of Nairobi.

He holds the Chartered Financial Analyst designation and is a graduate of the Advanced Management Programme from Strathmore Business School and IESE Business School, Universidad de Navarra, Barcelona

Worked as a research analyst at Dyer and Blair Investment Bank Limited in 1996 then became a senior bond dealer between 1997 and 1999 before receiving a promotion to the position of General Manager

Became executive director of Dyer and Blair Investment Bank in 2003

He is a former chairman of Kenya National Trading Corporation

Ex-chairman of the National Bank of Kenya, having joined the board in 2011

Has over 20 years of experience in the international and regional capital markets

Former director of the Kenya Community Development Foundation

Dr David Ndii- Chairperson, President's Council of Economic Advisors

Has doctorate and master's degrees in economics from the University of Oxford

Holds Master's and Bachelor's degrees from the University of Nairobi

He is a Rhodes Scholar and Eisenhower fellow

Founder and managing director of Africa Economics

Has extensive experience in economic policy

Was public finance expert to the Kenya constitutional review Committee of Experts

Advised NARC administration on the Economic Recovery Strategy

He consults for international development institutions and advises corporations on strategy

He co-founded the Institute of Economic Affairs, Kenya's first independent policy think tank

Was also an Economic advisor to the Government of Rwanda

 Dr David Ndii. [File, Standard]

Felix Koskei - Chief of Staff and Head of Public Service

Cabinet Secretary, Agriculture and fisheries (April 2013 and March 2015)

Was suspended in 2015 due to corruption allegations.

EACC later made Mr Koskei a witness

Member, Judicial Service Commission

Has served in several public corporations, commissions and parastatals, including Kenya Posts and Telecommunications Corporation, Kenya Anti-Corruption Commission, Kenya Civil Aviation Authority and Kenya National Highways Authority (KeNHA)

Holder of Bachelor of Science and Master of Business Administration with a specialty in Strategic Management from the University of Nairobi

Josphat Nanok - Deputy Chief of Staff

Director General in William Ruto presidential campaign

Former Governor, Turkana County

3rd Chair Governors Council

Former Assistant Minister, Livestock

Former member of Parliament Turkana South

Dr. Kamau Thugge - Senior advisor and head of fiscal affairs & budget policy

Former PS, Treasury

Served as head of the Fiscal and Monetary Affairs Department, Economic Secretary and as Senior Economic Advisor in the Ministry of Finance

Positions held at International Monetary Fund (IMF): Economist, Senior Economist and Deputy Division Chief.

Holder of Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Economics from Johns Hopkins University, USA.

Masters in Economics from Johns Hopkins University, USA

Holds a Bachelor of Arts (Economics) from Colorado College, USA

 Dr Kamau Thugge. [File, Standard]

Hussein Mohammed - State House Spokesperson

Former Director of Communications, Ruto Presidential Campaign

Former journalist, Royal Media Services

Dr. Augustine Cheruiyot - Senior Advisor and Head of Economic Transformation Secretariat

Economist by profession

Chief adviser on food security and agriculture - Ruto campaign

Dr. Nancy Laibuni - Associate Member, President's Council of Economic Advisors

Agricultural economist

Holds a PhD from Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany

Served as Policy Analyst, Productive Sector Department, KiPPRA

Katoo Ole Metito - Statehouse Comptroller

Former MP, Kajiado South Constituency

Former Assistant Minister for Regional Development

Former Minister, Internal Security

Former Assistant Minister, Youths and Sports

Holds a Master of Business Administration (Strategic Management)

BSC in Microprocessor Technology and Instrumentation, UoN

Compiled by Amos Mabinda | Standard Checkpoint

Related Topics


Similar Articles


Recommended Articles