The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

From zero in 2013 to seven governors, women prove their mettle in election

 In 2017 only 23 women were elected as MPs and now the number has increased to 29 (Photo: Courtesy)

"Who runs the world? Girls!" Is a song by Beyonce that was best portrayed in this year's General Elections held on August 9.

From no female governors in 2013 to now seven governors, three senators and 29 constituency seats won by women.

Proving that women will be well represented in parliament when the next government takes the reigns.

Who are these women representing?

Starting with the governor seats, Gladys Wanga is the governor-elect Homa Bay and the first female governor to win elections in Nyanza.

Gladys will be joined by Anne Waiguru and Cecily Mbarire representing Kirinyaga and Embu respectively from the Mount Kenya region.

Then there is Kawira Mwangaza who is the governor-elect of Meru county, a win that came as a surprise to many. Wavinya Ndeti won in Machakos county.

The coast region has Fatuma Achani, the Kwale governor-elect and also the first female governor from the region.

Finally, we have Susan Kihika as the Nakuru governor-elect.

For the senatorial races, the number of female representatives remains the same as that of 2017 with Keroche Breweries CEO Tabitha Karanja, Fatuma Dullo and Agnes Kavindu winning the races in Nakuru, Isiolo and Machakos respectively this year.

It is also important to note that in 2017, only 23 women were elected as MPs and now the number has increased to 29.

Nakuru county leads with four female elected MPs followed by Homa Bay county with three female MPs.

Related Topics


Similar Articles


Recommended Articles