Kibaki names task force for police reforms

By Elizabeth Mwai

President Kibaki has appointed a 15-member task force to spearhead comprehensive police reforms.

The National Task force on Police Reforms to be chaired by Philip Ransley, with two joint secretaries V. Okioma and Dorcas Oduor, aims to fast track reforms.

The members include Sarah Ondeyo, Bishop Alfred Rotich, Mohamud Ali Saleh, Macharia Njeru, Kyalo Mbobu, Mike Harries and Attorney General Amos Wako.

Others are the Permanent Secretaries Provincial Administration and Internal Security, Office of the Prime Minsister, Finance, Justice and Constitutional Affairs, Ministry of Public Service, the chairman of Law Reform Commission, Director Kenya Institute for Public Policy Research and Analysis (Kippra) and Chariman of the Kenya Human Right Commission (KNCHR).

It will examine existing policy, institutional, legislative, administrative and operational structures and recommend comprehensive reforms.

The task force is expected to complete its work by the end of July.