Government declares 15 public schools in Mau forest illegal

Rift Valley Regional Commissioner George Natembeya addressing the press at his office in Nakuru over the impending Maasai Mau Forest Evictions. [Kipsang Joseph/Standard]
The Government will be closing 15 primary schools that were built in the Mau Forest at a cost of Sh60 million.

Speaking yesterday during a tour of the forest, Rift Valley Regional Commissioner George Natembeya (pictured) said the schools were illegally put up using State funds.

Mr Natembeya said some unscrupulous leaders colluded with headteachers to establish the schools, adding that according to Government records, the schools have not been registered with the Ministry of Education.

He further stated that the Teachers Service Commission (TSC) had not deployed any teachers to the schools in the Mau as claimed by a section of Rift Valley leaders opposed to the eviction exercise.

SEE ALSO :Government bans grazing on reclaimed Mau forest land

“The Government considers these schools illegal structures that have not been mandated to take in pupils,” said Natembeya.

He noted that all 15 schools would be closed and advised parents not to take their children there when other schools reopen on September 2.

The primary schools to be closed are Kirobon, Senetwet, Kapsibilwo, Kitoben, Indianit, Kabarak, Noosogami, Chorwet, Ogilgei, Sebetet, Olabai, Koitabai, Chebirbelek, Chebetet and Lelechwet.

For More of This and Other Stories, Grab Your Copy of the Standard Newspaper.  

Natembeya claimed that one of the leaders in the Mau region approached headteachers and asked them to use the money allocated to them to put up the illegal schools.

“It is true the funds used to construct the schools came from the Government. It should, however, be noted that headteachers who received this money legally were deceived into building the illegal schools on forest land.”

SEE ALSO :Nine quizzed for helping Mau forest evictees

He said the only primary schools in the region that the Government recognises are Triangle, Enoosogon, Tedetwet, Ole NKapune, Tachasis,Ole Sulunye, Saire, Bondet, Kapkures, Botoret, Esongoroi, Kalyet, Kinebetei, Nkaroni and Kichaba.

Natembeya also took issue with the Nyayo Tea Zone situated between Olposimoru and Mau forests, saying it is not supposed to be there and had led to forest encroachment.

Do not miss out on the latest news. Join the Standard Digital Telegram channel HERE.

Get the latest summary of news in your email every morning. Subscribe below

* indicates required
Mau ForestRift Valley Regional Commissioner George NatembeyaMau Evictions