Leadership wrangles rock ANC Kakamega branch

Amani National Congress Party (ANC) Headquarters in Nairobi. [Wilberforce Okwiri, Standard]

Fresh leadership wrangles have erupted in Amani National Congress (ANC) party, Kakamega branch.

A faction led by Shikomari-Shinoi-Esumeiya Ward representative Bonface Akosi has sharply differed with one led by two county officials, Godfrey Minoti and Ruth Ombayo who are opposed to changes in branch leadership.

ANC Members of County Assembly (MCAs) had earlier handpicked Akosi as the new party chairman in Kakamega a move that has been opposed by some local officials.

Minoti and Ombayo said ANC members were not consulted before the MCAs picked Akosi as the party chairman.

Consequently, the officials have endorsed Tony Maleche as the acting ANC chairman, Kakamega branch. They have also unveiled a list of officials who will be in charge of the 12 constituencies in Kakamega county.

Earlier, the MCAs had endorsed Akosi as chairman and Niver Oluchiri (Nominated) as ANC secretary general in the county.

“MCAs who held a meeting were free to do so but they should not interfere with the party activities in the county,” said Minoti.

He said decisions arrived at the MCAs caucus should not be forced on party members.

“We have no problems with the MCAs, let them focus on their mandate in the county assembly and give those who were elected to manage party issues at the county level to do their work,” said Ombayo.

The leaders dismissed claims that ANC was on its deathbed saying the party was still strong.

“We listen to our party boss, Musalia Mudavadi and we are ready to follow him,” said the leaders during a press briefing in Kakamega town yesterday.

Former ANC county executive secretary Isaac Otiende led some party officials and members in ditching the party after the 2022 polls.

Leadership wrangles at the ANC Kakamega branch have threatened to split the party.

The Standard could not immediately reach Akosi and Kakamega county assembly Minority Leader David Ndakwa for a comment on the ANC leadership.