+ Post your Story

For Enquiries Chat with us on Whatsapp on 0712 538 802

What next for Mudavadi, Kalonzo after ODM Senators oust Wetangula?
By Washington Onyango | Updated Mar 20, 2018 at 13:17 EAT
NASA co-principals during a past event
  • ODM Senators have kicked out Moses Wetangula as the Senate Minority Leader
  •  They replaced him Siaya Senator James Orengo

Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) senators ousted Senate Minority Leader Senator Moses Wetangula on Tuesday 20 March. This is after a series of meetings held by the Nasa senators earlier last week citing lack of confidence in Wetangula.

Senator Wetangula, a Nasa Principal, has faced malicious attacks from Nasa supporters countrywide together with Kalonzo Musyoka and Musalia Mudavadi after skipping the highly anticipated Nasa swearing-in ceremony at Uhuru Park earlier this year attended by Nasa flag bearer Raila Odinga.

Their move had been termed as traitorous by Nasa politicians who expected their principals to stay together in their attempt to oust the Jubilee government. 

Today, Nasa senators have voted and removed Senator Moses Wetangula from the seat of Minority Leader in Senate house replacing him with Siaya Senator James Orengo. Senator Orengo will be deputised by Kakamega County Senator Cleophas Malala.

These series of events come after Nasa leader Raila Odinga and President Uhuru Kenyatta signed a peace agreement pact that aims at ending wrangles between Nasa and Jubilee.

Raila Odinga was seen alone without the other three Nasa principals, Wetangula, Mudavadi and Kalonzo during a joint speech given at Statehouse. Does this mean that Nasa Coalition days are numbered? What next for Mudavadi and Kalonzo?

Do you have stories, videos or pictures you would like to share with the world?

Simply click on Post Your Story button placed at the top of the website

This is a citizen journalism website. The views expressed here do not represent that of the Standard Group Ltd. Read the terms and conditions
Related Stories
More From This Author
Top Contibutors