× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Kenya Cup: Kabras Sugar thrash Blak Blad to keep title hopes alive

RUGBY By Washington Onyango | July 10th 2021
Action between Kabras against Blak Blad.[Washington Onyango,Standard]

Kabras Sugar on Saturday thrashed Kenyatta University side, Blak Blad, 47-8 in a one-sided Kenya Cup action played at the RFUEA Grounds in Nairobi.

The sugar millers headed into the match without their nine regular starting players who are with the national 15s side Kenya Simbas ahead of Sunday’s Rugby Africa Cup tie against Zambia.

Kabras showed no rustiness in the game despite playing for the first time since March as stand-in captain Felix Ayange crossed over with Ntabeni Dukisa converting for an early 7-0 lead.

Kevin Wekesa doubled the scores to 14-0 after Dukisa’s conversion before Blak Blad would convert a penalty for a 14-3 scoreline.

Hillary Odhiambo scored Kabras third try with Dukisa adding the twos as Dan Angwech and Thomas Simiyu crossed over the whitewash for a 33-3 lead at the break.

In the second half, Blad pulled a try back through Archadius Khwesa before Kabras landed the sixth try through Joseph Odero to take the scores to 40-8.

Dukisa joined the try scorer’s list with the seventh try after being set up by Ayange as the scores stretched to 47-8.

The win has seen Kabras cut the gap between them and leaders KCB to four points.


Kabras RFC 1.Joseph Odera 2.Teddy Akala 3.Hillary Mwajilwa 4.Hillary Odhiambo 5.Mitch Jaoko 6.Thomas Simiyu 7.Kevin Wekesa 8.Jeanson Misoga 9.Dan Angwech 10.Ntabeni Dukisa 11.Alfred Orege 12.Walter Okoth 13.Timoci Senaite 14.Bede Enonda 15.Felix Ayange captain

Replacements: 16.Shitambasi Geoffrey 17.Lee Akanga 18.Emmanuel 19.Felix Makhokha 20.Aaron Adhanja 21.Edwin Achayo 22.Valerian Kasaya23.Johnstone Mungau

Blak Blad:1. Humphrey Litali 2. Morris Mutugi 3. Antony Abwoga 4. Trevor Ayombe 5. Stephen Ochieng 6. James Otieno 7. Dennis Opiyo 8. Sheldon Kahi (c) 9. Arthur Wanyonyi 10. Lionel Ekesa(vc) 11.Marshall Mutai 12.David Ochieng 13.Douglas Wanyonyi 14.Derrick Wechuli 15. Kelvin Gathu

Reserves: 16. Lincoln Njogu 17. Baerum Imbuye 18. Christopher Rabuut 19. David Njiraini 20. Calvin Nyausi 21. Lawrence Ishuga 22. Arcadias Khwesa 23. Brian Kadenge 24. Brian Opar.

Share this story
Barty ends Australia's long wait for Wimbledon women's title
World number one Ash Barty became the first Australian woman to win the Wimbledon singles title for 41 years on Saturday when she defeated Czech Karol
Kenyans: Spare our Olympians from Internet trolling
It’s so big, the Olympic Games. You have to be there 100 per cent. The past few days has been a roller coaster of emotions for Kenyan Olympians.