CAF confirms four pots for Africa World Cup Qualifiers ahead of draw tonight

By Odero Charles: Tuesday, January 21st 2020 at 22:53 GMT +3 | Football
Harambee Stars players Victor Wanyama and Michael Olunga when the team arrived from Egypt on November 16, 2019. [FKF Media]

Four different pots for African World Cup Qualifiers have been confirmed by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) ahead of tonight’s draw in Cairo, Egypt.

40 teams will be drawn into 10 groups of four pots, depending on their recent Fifa World Ranking as of December 2019.

The group phase starts in March 2020, during the first international break of the year, and ends in October 2021.

The competing nations will be divided into 10 groups made up of four countries.

Winners of each group will qualify to the third round where they will be drawn into five home-and-away ties.

The winners of each tie will qualify for the World Cup.

Get the latest sports news updates. Subscribe to our SMS sports service by texting 'SPORTS' to 22840.

Kenya were placed in pot three, alongside Madagascar, Mauritania, Libya, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Niger, Central African Republic, Namibia, Guinea-Bissau.

2019 AFCON finalists Algeria and Senegal were placed in the first pot alongside Tunisia, Morocco, Ghana, Egypt, Cameroon, Mali, DR Congo and Nigeria.

Burkina Faso, South Africa, Guinea, Uganda, Cape Verde, Gabon, Benin, Zambia, Congo, Ivory Coast are in pot two.

Countries in pot four are Malawi, Angola, Togo, Sudan, Rwanda, Tanzania, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Liberia and Djibouti.



For More of This and Other Sports Stories Subscribe to the Standard Epaper