POLO: Kenyans win Lusaka International Championships

By Ben Ahenda: Monday, August 26th 2019 at 00:00 GMT +3 | Sports
Gideon Moi (left) of Mambo battles with Ben Stonewigg of Track Rack in the American Polo tournament at Manyatta Polo Club. [File]

Kenya won all her three matches to emerge the overall winners of the Lusaka International Championships at Lubombo Polo Club in Zambia over the weekend.

In the first match, Kenya defeated United States of America 17-5 before dismissing Zambia B 9-4.5.

The Zambia B team had handicap -1 Mitch Coventry, Jessica Patterson (-1), Savannah Coventry ( -1) and Max Coventry (-2). They were coached by Kevin Coventry and Mark Coventry.

In Kenya’s last match, the national junior team of handicap 2.5 Jadini Nzomo, Ben Stonewigg, Tom Stonewigg and William Millar defeated stubborn Zambia A 8-7 in a closely contested match.

At the end of the third chukka, both teams tied 7-7.

It was Jadini who broke the camel’s back from an assist by Ben Stonewigg as he scored a screamer in the fourth chukka, which came in handly for the Kenyan lads in the final chukka as Millar and Tom(Stonewigg) manned the defence with pride.

Get the latest sports news updates. Subscribe to our SMS sports service by texting 'SPORTS' to 22840.

Ben Stonewigg was voted as the Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

The Zambia A team had Tristan Clayton, handicap -1 Ewen Pinkney, handicap -1 Emily Paterson, handicap -1 Bianca Coventry and handicap -1 Oliver John Snart.

In their match against the US team of Oliver Wieser, handicap -1 Augustus Grootnik, Cipriano Echezarreta and Ava Rose Hinkson, Kenya scored through Jadini (five), Ben (six), Tom (three) and Millar (three).

The Americans scored through Echezarreta (a hat-trick) and Grootnik, who scored twice.

Both Zambian teams defeated the Americans in the round-robin matches, while Zambia A dismissed Zambia B to finish runner-up behind Kenya.

US trailed with no point after losing all matches.

Meanwhile, Redigo Deter team emerged the Connaught Cup and Bwana Begg Cup champions at Northern Polo Club in Timau. Vellum won the Murray Cup. 

For More of This and Other Sports Stories Subscribe to the Standard Epaper