Paul Tergat elected NOCK president

By Brian Ukaya: Friday, September 29th 2017 at 15:56 GMT +3 | Olympics

Paul Tergat has been elected unopposed as the National Olympic Organizing Committee (NOCK) president

He replaces Kipchoge Keino who has held the position for the last 18 years.

The veteran marathoner sailed through unchallenged after his would be challenger, Patrick Muya's candidature was thrown out by delegates.

Shadrack MalukI and Waithaka Kioni will be Tergat’s first and second deputies respectively.

Other elected NOCK officials include:

Athletes’ representative

Which team are you supporting in the 2018 World Cup? To get the latest soccer news, text 'SPORTS' to 22840.

Humphrey Kayange

Hellen Obiri

Women representative

Paurvi Rawal

Committee Members

Shoaib Abdulgani, Paul Otula, Winnie Kamau

Deputy Treasurer

Paul Rwambo


Anthony Kariuki

Deputy Secretary

Francis Mutuku

Secretary General

Francis Paul

Second Deputy vice President

Waithaka Kioni

First deputy president

Shadrack MalukI