× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS
Watch The Tokyo Olympics 2020 live online

Small-scale farmers welcome new tea reforms

By Nikko Tanui | August 5th 2020

Small-holder farmers have welcomed the implementation of new tea regulations.

For years, they have been pleading with the government to tame Kenya Tea Development Agency (KTDA).

Tealand Smallholder Tea Farmers Association Chairman Richard Cheruiyot said this will force KTDA to start paying farmers not less than 50 per cent of their deliveries as monthly payments with the balance being paid as annual bonus. 

“Farmers who supplied their leaf to Litein Tea Factory last year, for instance, earned a total of Sh32 per kilogramme of tea they supplied to the factory. The first payment was Sh18 and we earned a bonus of Sh14,” said Cheruiyot.  

William Ketteinya said the directive will create transparency in company secretarial services through individual tea factories engaging their own company secretary. 

“The creation of Kenya Tea Council is an overdue discussion. There is a need to relook at the current KTDA structures and remove impediments. KTDA insist on the creation of subsidiaries. It is not in the interest of tea growers to see new bodies being created,” said Cheruiyot.  

He also called for the scrapping of the current system of elections of factory directors.

Share this story
Daddy's Girl: Journey on being raised by single father
He says she will tell her own story. He wants to tell his, and that of his daughter.
Why Kenyan boxers are winning medals once again
The BFK led by President Anthony ‘Jamal’ Ombok was elected into the office in 2019 and has since...