Ojienda, Jalang'o react after party expulsion over gross misconduct

Tom Ojienda (Kisumu Senator), Felix Odiwour (Langata MP) were expelled by ODM party. [File, Standard]

Members of Parliament ousted by the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party have reacted to the party’s top organ’s decision.

This comes hours after the party’s National Executive Council resolved to expel Tom Ojienda (Kisumu Senator), Felix Odiwour (Langata MP), Caroli Omondi (Suba South MP), Gideon Ochanda (Bondo MP), and Elisha Odhiambo (Gem MP) over gross misconduct.

Hours after the party cracked the whip, Kisumu Senator Tom Ojienda took to his official social media pages, saying he had no apologies for working with President William Ruto.

“My Party has today expelled me for working with HE President William Ruto. I have no apology and will continue to work with the President.”

On the other hand, comedian cum politician Felix Odiwuor shared an old image of him carrying evidence boxes to the Supreme Court, when Azimio la Umoja was challenging President William Ruto’s election in court.

In the caption, Odiwuor, popularly known as Jalangoo termed the party’s verdict as a temptation and accompanied it with a bible verse.

“No trial is too heavy to lift! No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation, he will also provide a way of escape, so that you may be able to endure it. CORINTHIANS 10:13,” the Langata lawmaker said.

His ouster puts to rest speculations that emerged after a video of the lawmaker having a good time with the party leader Raila Odinga went viral on the internet.

Another political leader who had rubbed shoulders with the party leadership the wrong way is Nairobi Woman Representative Esther Passaris, who has been directed to pay a fine of Sh250,000 to the party. She also voted for the Bill in parliament.

She was called for disciplinary action after she publicly supported the Finance Act, 2023 against the party’s wishes.

Two other legislators, Paul Abuor and Mark Nyamita were reprimanded and fined Sh 1 million each to be paid within sixty days.

They appeared before the Disciplinary Committee in person and explained the reasons for their actions

Nominated MCAs in the Kisumu County Assembly Hon. Caroline Opar, Hon. Kennedy Ajwang’, Hon. Peter Obaso and Hon. Regina Kizito will have their nominations revoked.

According to the Constitution, a sitting member of parliament who is expelled by the party is supposed to resign and go for a by-election with a different political outfit.