Senator Cheptumo elected chairperson of National Security, Defence and Foreign Relations Committee

Baringo Senator William Cheptumo. [Samson Wire, Standard]

Baringo Senator William Cheptumo has been elected as the Chairperson of the Senate National Security, Defense and Foreign Relations Committee.

Nominated Senator Karen Nyamu was also elected as the Committee Vice Chairperson in a unanimous decision by Committee members drawn from both Kenya Kwanza Alliance and Azimio La Umoja Coalition.

Addressing committee members after the election was held in Parliament buildings in Nairobi yesterday, Cheptumo said that security was a major challenge in many parts of the country and that they will work together to ensure it is addressed urgently.

"We have cases of serious challenges to security in various parts of the country, it is our responsibility as a committee to liaise with the government security organs to look into ways of ensuring the safety of all citizens," said Cheptumo.

The Baringo Senator said that they will also look at Kenya's relations with neighbouring countries to ensure that the interests of the country are put in the forefront at all times and also promote peaceful coexistence and advise the government accordingly.

Cheptumo said that they will work closely with various communities that are involved in cattle theft which has contributed to cases of ethnic conflicts that have led to the loss of lives and property with the incidents happening every short while with a long time solution needed.

"Our committee is going to work with the government, citizens and other stakeholders to address security challenges in various parts of the country since we cannot allow our people to continue being killed or losing their livestock impoverishing their families," said Cheptumo.

Senator Nyamu said that the Committee members will work together in a bi-partisan manner since security challenges cut across all citizens irrespective of their political affiliation since national interests supersede the interests of any individual.

Senate Minority Whip Fatuma Dullo asked the Chairperson or the Vice Chairperson to be always in the house so as to ensure that security matters coming up are addressed with the urgency they deserve since they always determine the wellbeing of the nation.

Committee Members Senators; Abdul Haji (Garissa), Tom Ojienda (Kisumu), Julius Murgor (West Pokot), Lenku Seki (Kajiado), Joseph Kamau (Lamu) and George Mbugua (Nominated) pledged to support the committee leadership to achieve their goals.

[email protected]