× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Kiambaa by-election: Rowdy youths eject Amos Kimunya from polling station

By Mireri Junior | July 15th 2021

Kipipiri MP Amos Kimunya at Kimuga polling station in Kiambaa. Rowdy youths forced him to leave the centre. [Emmanuel Too, Standard]

Jubilee Majority Leader and Kipipiri MP Amos Kimunya had a rough time this morning when he visited one of the polling stations in Kiambaa constituency.

Kimunya came face to face with a group of rowdy youths at Kimuga Polling Station who accused him of interfering with the voting exercise and ordered him to leave the venue.

The youths shouted at the MP, saying they did not know why he [Kimunya] was at the centre.

The MP tried to talk to the youths in vain as they shouted "Kimunya must go".

Kimunya finally left the venue after the youths persisted that he was not needed at the centre.

He was escorted out of the centre by GSU officers, sparking celebration from the youths.

According to locals, the situation has normalised and voting is underway in Kimuga Polling Station.

Kipipiri MP Amos Kimunya at Kimuga polling station in Kiambaa. [Emmanuel Too, Standard]

The voting exercise kicked off today at 6:20 am and will continue throughout the day.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has warned politicians against interfering with the exercise.

Speaking to the media on Wednesday evening, Kiambaa Returning Officer Peter Muigai said political parties’ super agents will not be allowed in the polling stations.

Jubilee's Kariri Njama will face off United Democratic Alliance (UDA) candidate John Njuguna Wanjiku in a high-stakes vote pitting President Uhuru Kenyatta against his deputy William Ruto.

Jubilee candidate Kariri Njama casting his vote at Gachie Primary School, Kiambaa. [George Njunge, Standard]

Other candidates in the by-election include Richard Njoroge (The New Democrats Party), Isaac Karomo (Federal Party of Kenya), Willie Mbugua (Independent), David Mugo (Independent), Evans Wainaina (Independent), Njoroge Harrison (Independent) among others.

The candidates are seeking to replace former MP Paul Koinange who passed away on March 31.

Kiambaa has got 96000 votes with 154 polling stations.

Share this story
Inside ruthless gang murdering children
The discovery of the bodies of three children in Nairobi yesterday blew the lid off what police say is a syndicate behind the recent kidnappings.
Opening Ceremony: Kenya takes her pride of place as 2020 Tokyo Paralympic Games begin
Team Kenya Paralympics strolled majestically into the Tokyo Olympic Stadium led by captain Rodgers Kiprop and Powerlifter Hellen Wawira for the Openin