× Digital News Videos Opinion Special Reports Lifestyle Central Coast Eastern Nairobi North Eastern Nyanza Rift Valley Western Business News Stocks Financial Standard Africa Asia America Europe Weird News Editorial Commentary Letters Crazy World Features Entertainment Money & Careers Health & Science Sci & Tech Home & Away Generation Next Cartoon Education Pointblank Environment Travel & Destination Columns Kipkoech Tanui uReport Kiambu Murang'a Nyandarua Kirinyaga Nyeri Baringo Bomet Elgeyo Kajiado Kericho Laikipia Nakuru Nandi Narok Samburu Trans Nzoia Turkana Mombasa Kwale Kilifi Tanariver Taita Taveta Kakamega Vihiga Bungoma Busia Siaya Kisumu Homabay Migori Kisii Nyamira Nairobi Uasin Gishu West Pokot Sunday Magazine The Hague Trial Kenya @ 50 Education and Training Health and Environment Insurance and Financial Security Housing Current Affairs Humour Makau Mutua David Oginde Clay Muganda Comand Your Morning Mohamed Wehliye Wednesday Life Alexander Chagema Arts & Culture Kamotho Waiganjo Barrack Muluka Xn Iraki Urban Rights - By Steve Ouma Branding Voice KCB Fredrick Ogola Sunday Magazine Wanja Kavengi Njoki Kaigai David Oginde Ken Opalo Daisy Maritim Houghton Irungu Hustle News Group Stages Round of 16 Quarter Finals Semi Finals Finals Third Place play-offs Opinion Dr Pesa Podcasts Round Table Sepetuko Eve Woman Ramadhan Special Fact Check Correction Explainers The Standard Insider Blog E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Opposition legislators make true their threat, skip Uhuru’s address in Parliament

By Cyrus Ombati and Moses Njagih | September 12th 2017 at 03:41:16 GMT +0300

President Uhuru Kenyatta addressing Parliament.

Supreme Court Judges and Opposition legislators stayed away as President Uhuru Kenyatta addressed the joint sitting of the House to mark the start of 12th Parliament Tuesday.

As the President addressed the House Opposition MPs were at a political rally eight kilometres away in Kibera, Nairobi, convened by the Opposition National Super Alliance.

Only Webuye West MP Alfred Sambu (ANC) was in parliament.

Relations between the President and the Judiciary have been frosty after the Supreme Court annulled the August 8 presidential election on the grounds that it was not conducted in accordance with the constitution. A petition against his election had been filed by NASA presidential candidate Raila Odinga and his running mate Kalonzo Musyoka.

After the declaration nullifying his victory, President Uhuru accepted the court’s decision but attacked the judges calling them “wakora” (crooks).

His argument, which was quickly picked by his Jubilee party politicians,  was that the judges had no business overturning the "sovereign will of the people."

A seven-judge bench heard the matter. Two o them, Njoki Ndung’u and Jackton Ojwang dissented. Chief Justice David Maraga, his deputy Justice Philomena Mwilu, Justices Isaac Lenaola and Smokin Wanjala upheld the NASA petition. Justice Mohamed Ibrahim was taken ill midstream the hearing and was not part of the declaration.

Justice Maraga said the court will deliver full verdict in 21 days.

Independently-elected MPs did not stay away from the  presidential function.

 Cabinet Secretaries Najee Balata (Tourism), Eugene Wadalba (Water), Fred Matiang'i (acting, Interior), Henry Rotich (Treasury), Mwangi Kiunjuri (Devolution) among others and several public service heads  attended the parliamentary function.

Anglican Archbishop Jackson Ole Sapit, who has urged the president to respect the Judiciary, was present as was a number of diplomats.


Uhuru Kenyatta Parliament Supreme Court
Share this story

Read More