Confusion as Mudavadi, Koskei differ on Foreign Affairs, Prime CS head office location

The Kenya Railways Headquarters which houses the office of the Prime Cabinet Secretary Musalia Mudavadi. [Denis Kibuchi, Standard]

Confusion is rife on where the head office for the Prime Cabinet Secretary (PCS) and Ministry of Foreign Affairs will be situated, following the recent Cabinet reshuffle.

In a communique seen by The Standard, Head of Public Service Felix Koskei notes that the headquarters of the office of the Prime CS and Ministry of Foreign and Diaspora Affairs, now both run by Musalia Mudavadi will be located at the Old Treasury building in Nairobi.

But Mudavadi disagrees. The CS who has been operating from the Kenya Railways Headquarters insists it continues to be the head office for the two dockets he now holds.

“For the avoidance of doubt, the Office of the Prime Cabinet Secretary and Cabinet Secretary for the Ministry of Foreign and Diaspora Affairs remains at the Railways Headquarters,” he said in a post on X.

The Old Treasury Building initially housed the Ministry of Foreign Affairs which now is managed and run by Mudavadi.

The office at Railways, according to Koskei should be occupied by Moses Kuria who has since been reassigned to the Ministry of Public Service, a newly formed docket.

The communique, in line with President William Ruto’s reorganisation of government, aims at aligning all ministries for effective service delivery.

“Locating all Ministerial head offices within Government Square seeks to foster synergy as we embark on the expedited implementation of the Administration's plan for the nation- the Bottom-Up Economic Transformation Agenda (BETA),” said Koskei.

Another ministry affected by the changes is that of Youth Affairs and Sports which will move to the newly launched Talanta Plaza in Nairobi’s Upper Hill.

Other Ministries have maintained their initial locations as follows;

Ministry of Interior and National Administration at Harambee House, Nairobi, Office of the Attorney General continues to be based at Sheria House, Treasury at Treasury Building, Defence Ministry at Ulinzi House, Road and Transport Ministry located at Transcom House, Ministry of Lands at Ardhi House, Information, communication and Digital Economy at Teleposta Towers while the Ministry of Health stays at Afya House.

Others are the Ministry of Education at Jogoo House, the Ministry of Agriculture- and Livestock Developmentvcat Kilimo House, MSMEs Development at Social Security House, Ministry of Environment and Forestry at the NHIF Building, Tourism and Wildlife, also located at Social Security House, and Ministry of Gender, Culture and Heritage, at the Kenya National Library Services Headquarters.

The Ministry of Energy and Petroleum head office remains at Kawi House, while that of Water Ministry at Maji House, the Ministry of Labour and Social Protection- Social Security House, EAC, and Regional Development head office is at the Cooperative Bank House, and Ministry of Mining, Blue Economy and Maritime Affairs headquarters is at Works Building, all within the capital.