Veteran politician among Uhuru's final days appointees

Rose Waruhiu will chair the board of Jomo Kenyatta Foundation. [Angela Maina, Standard]

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed veteran politician Rose Waruhiu to public office in what is likely to be his last appointments before handing over power.

Ms Waruhiu will chair the board of Jomo Kenyatta Foundation according to the latest Kenya Gazette. The politician is among founder members of the Democratic Party alongside former president, the late Mwai Kibaki.

She has also served as a member of the first East African Legislative Assembly, which was inaugurated in 2001. Her appointment takes effect from July 28 and will serve for three years.

The president also reappointed Maj General Omudho Awitta as chairman of the Kenya Railways Board for another three years. Ewaso Ngiro North Development Authority has a new chairperson. The president appointed Ahmed Duale Ahmed to serve in the position for the next three years, while Lt Gen (Rtd) Walter Raria Koipatan will serve in the same capacity at the Ewaso Ngiro South Development Authority for the same period.

Also to receive the president's nod to public office is Dr Stephen Mwangi Karanja who will chair the Kenya Nuclear Regulatory Authority for three years. Ben Gituku who previously served as board chair at the Communications Authority (CA) has been deployed to chair the board of the National Housing Corporation for three years. Dr Simon Kangethe has been appointed as the non-executive chairman of the board of the Clinical Officers Council of Kenya.

The president also appointed political activist Washington Makodingo to serve on the board of the LAPSSET Corridor Development Authority Board for three years. National Treasury CS Ukur Yatani has appointed former head of Assets Recovery Agency Muthoni Wangai to chairperson and member of the Anti-Money Laundering Advisory board for three years.

Tourism CS Najib Balala has also appointed two journalists as honorary wardens. Citizen TV's Trevor Ombija and Jane Ngoiri, formerly of NTV, were among those appointed into an exclusive club to help in conservation. Others in the club are senior military officers Lt. Gen. Albert Kendagor, Lt. Gen. Mohamed Badi, who also heads the Nairobi Metropolitan Services, Lt. Gen. Jonah Mwangi and Lt. Gen. Peter Njiru among others.