President Uhuru awards six citizens for outstanding service to nation

President Uhuru Kenyatta awarded six citizens for their distinguished services to the nation. [PSCU]

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Sunday awarded six Kenyans for their distinguished and outstanding services rendered to the nation in various capacities and responsibilities.

The six citizens were feted at Nairobi’s Uhuru Gardens during the celebration of this year’s Jamhuri Day.

For the Elder of the Order of the Burning Spear (EBS), Uhuru awarded Eng Gehlot Kishan Singh and Dr Akhwale Willis Simon

While for the Order of the Grand Warrior (OGW) of Kenya, the Head of State awarded Sergeant Salim Mohammed, Faith Chepngetich Kipyegon and Peres Chepchirchir.

In the Silver Star (SS) of Kenya category, President Kenyatta awarded Ali Shitialo Ramadhan.

President Kenyatta award various orders, decorations and medals to Kenyans in various capacities and responsibilities in recognition of outstanding services rendered to the nation

The awards are made by the president upon the advice of a National Honours and Awards Committee in the president's office.

Those awarded are nominated by government ministries, religious organisations, non-governmental organisations, individuals and others.

According to the National Honours Act, those who merit the awards include persons who exhibit exemplary qualities, or achievements of heroism, patriotism or leadership, or those who have made an exemplary contribution to the country in the economic, scientific, academic, sports, journalism, business, security or other fields