× Digital News Videos Africa Health & Science Opinion Columnists Education Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Gender Planet Action Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS


Cabinet Secretaries, CASs and PSs sent on working recess

By Cyrus Ombati | Aug 15th 2020 | 2 min read

President Uhuru Kenyatta (pictured) has sent Cabinet Secretaries, Principal Secretaries and Chief Administrative Secretaries (CASs) on a working recess.

During the recess period that commences on August 17 to August 28, 2020, Cabinet committees and technical committees will not have any scheduled engagements unless directed by the president for urgent business, cases of national emergency or any other exceptional circumstances.

Head of Public Service Joseph Kinyua said in a memo that cabinet members will be expected to conduct working tours, site visits and field engagements with members of the public in relation to ongoing development projects and government programmes.

“During the working recess, members of the cabinet will still be required to undertake their ministerial portfolio responsibilities and attend to any presidential engagements arising from or ancillary to their ministerial mandate,” said Kinyua.

Kinyua said during the recess, members of the Cabinet shall be allowed to take leave from office, subject to prior approval of the President and receipt of Presidential clearance with respect to any travel by the member of Cabinet to any destination outside of the territory of the Republic of Kenya.

At the end of the recess, the National Development Implementation and Communication Cabinet Committee, chaired by Interior CS Dr. Fred Matiang’i, will meet for the 27th time on September 1, 2020.

President Kenyatta is scheduled to chair a cabinet meeting on September 3, 2020, according to Kinyua’s memo that was copied to Dr. Matiang’i and Interior PS Dr. Karanja Kibicho, who also chairs the National Development Implementation Technical Committee, as well as AG Paul Kihara Kariuki.

The cabinet working recess directive has sparked speculation of a looming cabinet reshuffle.

Share this story
Uhuru drives self in Nairobi to inspect projects
President Uhuru's first stop was at the Nairobi Railway Station where he inspected the ongoing refurbishment of the station.
When Njonjo almost resigned over coffee smugglers
Known as the era of black gold, it began in 1976 when Ugandan farmers decided to sell their coffee in the private market.