× Digital News Videos Health & Science Lifestyle Opinion Education Columnists Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Ureport Fact Check The Standard Insider Kenya @ 50 Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Kiambu and Machakos Counties’ police commanders moved in mini-reshuffle

By Cyrus Ombati | November 16th 2016 at 15:39:41 GMT +0300

Eight senior police commanders have been moved in a mini-reshuffle aimed at checking crime levels in their areas.

Kiambu County Commander James Mugera was moved to Kericho in the same capacity swapping positions with Adiel Njagi Nyange while Machakos’ Jecinta Wesonga was moved to Nyeri in the same capacity.

The new Machakos County commander is Johana Tonui who has been at Kiganjo police college while the new commander for Laikipia is Simon Kipkeu.

Nyeri’s Eunice Kihiko was moved to police headquarters and named the director of complaints while Angelus Karuru will be the deputy North Eastern regional coordinator.

Evelyne Mbugua was moved from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport and named the new Kangundo OCPD in the changes announced Wednesday. More changes are expected in the service ahead of the Christmas festive season and next year’s general election.

Read More

Officials say there is a proposal to retire early those whose retirement is due next year to allow new commanders prepare for elections.

And after the National Police Service Commission promoted a number of officers, many changes are expected in various commands in the service.

Last month, former deputy Director of Criminal Investigations Gideon Kimilu appointed the head of Interpol Nairobi Regional Bureau.

Kimilu will be in charge of regional countries in managing major operations against crimes. The countries include Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Seychelles, Republic of Sudan, South Sudan Uganda and Rwanda.

Former traffic commandant Charlton Mureithi was also appointed as the head of Internal Affairs Unit (IAU). Mureithi taking over from Leo Nyongesa who retired from the service after attaining the mandatory age. Former head DCI’s criminal registry Patrick Ndunda was also moved back to DCI headquarters for redeployment.

The three officers had on September 2015 been unceremoniously removed from their positions and posted to the Office of the President. They were not allocated any duties and there were claims they were targeted because of perceptions in the service. 

Read More