The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Anne Waiguru re-elected CoG chairperson

 Council of Governors Chairperson who is also Kirinyaga Governor Ann Waiguru during the launch of a platform for Public participation and Inclusivity dubbed BADILICO on September 18, 2023. [Samson Wire, Standard]

Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru has been re-elected as the Council of Governors chairperson.

In an election held today at their Delta offices, the Executive and Technical Committee council re-elected Waiguru as the chairperson to serve for another one-year.

Waiguru has served in the position since she took  over from former Embu Governor Martin Wambora in 2022.

She previously served as the Council's first female vice chairperson from December 2017 to January 2019.

Her Wajir counterpart Ahmed Abdullahi has also retained his seat as the council’s deputy chairperson to serve for the same period.

Most governors retained their positions at the council including Muthomi Njuki (Health), Energy, Roads, Transport and Infrastructure (Kimani Wamatangi), Finance, Planning and Economic Affairs (Fernandes Barasa), and Resource Mobilization and Partnerships (Cecily Mbarire).

While Governor Patrick Ole Ntutu reained his position for Tourism and Wildlife, his Bungoma counterpart Kenneth Lusaka retained the Agriculture, Livestock and Cooperatives docket, Nathif Jama for Arid, Semi-Arid Lands (ASAL), Kisumu’s Anyang Nyong’o Disaster Management committee, Land, Housing and Urban Development and Issa Timamy the Blue Economy docket.

Nairobi’s Johnson Sakaja, however, lost the Human Resource, Labour, and Social Welfare docket to his Nyeri counterpart Mutahi Kahiga.

In the position of chair of the Trade, Industry, and Enterprise Development Committee, Nakuru’s Susan Kihika has been picked to replace Wavinya Ndeti of Machakos.

In the same election, Baringo’s Benjamin Cheboi was picked to replace Tana River’s Dhadho Godhana in the Security and Foreign Affairs committee docket.

The leadership will play a key role in steering devolution and development agenda across the counties in the next one-year.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week